Home / Opportunities / Opportunity
PROCUREMENT OPPORTUNITY

Provision of Insurance Cover for Vale of White Horse District Council (Excluding Broker Services)

Vale of White Horse District Council · award, contract

Tender information last checkedLast checked 19 Oct 2026, 15:26.

Opportunity overview

South Oxfordshire District Council entered into a contract with Zurich Insurance plc dated 17 December 2021 for the provision of insurance cover ,excluding broker services ("the Contract"). The procurement was advertised on Find a Tender service on 27 May 2021. The initial term of the Contract expired on 30 September 2024 but contained an option to extend by 2 years. The Council extended the Contract in accordance with its terms up to the maximum length, with a new expiry date of 30 September 2026. This VEAT notice relates to a proposed extension of the Contract to 31 March 2027 to allow time for the Council to undertake a re-procurement as although a procurement exercise was commenced prior to the expiry of the Contract, it has been discontinued. Original Contract Award Notice 2021/S 000-023657

Awarded to

Amounts belong to published awards or contracts. Where several suppliers share one value, it is labelled as shared and is not a supplier-specific allocation.

Zurich Municipal

Matched by number
Contract value
£134.4k
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
18 Oct 2026
Award ID
098460-2026-1
Status
active
Identifier
GB-COH 02741053
Location
Fareham, UKJ36, United Kingdom

Classification

  • CPV66000000 — Financial and insurance services
  • CPV66512100 — Accident insurance services
  • CPV66513000 — Legal insurance and all-risk insurance services
  • CPV66513200 — Contractor's all-risk insurance services
  • CPV66515000 — Damage or loss insurance services
  • CPV66515200 — Property insurance services
  • CPV66515411 — Pecuniary loss insurance services
  • CPV66516100 — Motor vehicle liability insurance services
  • CPV66516400 — General liability insurance services
  • CPV66516500 — Professional liability insurance services
  • CPV66519200 — Engineering insurance services

Lots

  • Material DamageValue not stated
  • Commercial/Industrial PropertiesValue not stated
  • CasualtyValue not stated
  • Engineering Insurance ServicesValue not stated
  • Fidelity GuaranteeValue not stated
  • Personal AccidentValue not stated
  • Motor FleetValue not stated
  • PackageValue not stated

Published notice details

Additional information from the published procurement release. Fields appear only when supplied by the source; check the original notice and tender documents before acting.

Scope, procedure and submissions

Id
DN546591
Status
complete
Main Procurement Category
services
Procurement Method
limited
Procurement Method Details
Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition
Why this procedure was chosen
The Council intends to extend the Contract to 31March 2027 to allow time for a re-procurement exercise to be conducted . The procurement exercise which had commenced prior to the expiry of the Contract has been discontinued because some errors and omissions were identified in the invitation to tender documents which made it impossible to demonstrate transparency and equal treatment in the evaluation and moderation of the responses from bidders. In addition, the Government`s announcement to pause Local Government Re-organisation has created uncertainty regarding future insurance requirements Therefore the Council has made the decision to extend the current Contract until 31st March 2027,re-write the tender pack and go back to the market, which gives the opportunity of seeking a longer contract period. The Council`s position is that the modification is permitted under Regulation 72(1)(e) of the Public Contract Regulations 2015 (as amended) (non-substantial modifications) and that none of the conditions set out in Regulation 72(8) apply. The proposed short term extension will therefore provide the Council with a sufficient period of time to run a re-procurement exercise, and to provide continuity of service for the Council while it is conducted

Legal basis

Id
32014L0024
Scheme
CELEX

Classification

Scheme
CPV
Id
66000000
Description
Financial and insurance services

Covered By

GPA

Procedure reasons

Entry 1
Scheme
TED_PT_AWARD_CONTRACT_WITHOUT_CALL
Id
D_OUTSIDE_SCOPE
Description
The procurement falls outside the scope of application of the directive

Lots and requirements

Entry 1
Id
1
Title
Material Damage
Description
The Council require Material Damage cover incorporating General Properties, Business Interruption - Additional Expenditure, All Risks, Money, Computers and Contract Works
Has Options
No

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Type
price
Entry 2
Id
2
Title
Commercial/Industrial Properties
Description
The Council requires cover for Commercial/Industrial properties incorporating Commercial & Industrial Properties, Business Interruption - Loss of Rent
Has Options
No

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Type
price
Entry 3
Id
3
Title
Casualty
Description
The contracting authority require cover for Casualty incorporating Employers Liability, Public & Products Liability, Officials Indemnity, Land Charges, Libel and Slander, Professional Indemnity, Hirers Liability
Has Options
No

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Type
price
Entry 4
Id
4
Title
Engineering Insurance Services
Description
The contracting authority requires cover for Engineering Services incorporating Engineering Insurance, Engineering Inspection Services, Engineering Business Interruption
Has Options
No

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Type
price
Entry 5
Id
5
Title
Fidelity Guarantee
Description
The contracting authority requires cover for Fidelity Guarantee.
Has Options
No
Entry 6
Id
6
Title
Personal Accident
Description
The contracting authority requires Personal Accident cover
Has Options
No

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Type
price
Entry 7
Id
7
Title
Motor Fleet
Description
The contracting Authority requires motor fleet insurance
Has Options
No

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Type
price
Entry 8
Id
8
Title
Package
Description
Vale of White Horse District Council are also inviting a "package" bid from suppliers for a combination of Lot 1 - Property (including Computers, Contract Works, Business Interruption, Money and All Risks) Lot 3 - Casualty (including Employers Liability, Public and Products Liability, Officials Indemnity, Land Charges, Libel and Slander, Professional Indemnity and Hirers Liability) and Lot 7 Motor Fleet.
Has Options
No

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Type
price

Items and delivery

Item 1
Id
1
Related Lot
1

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
66513200
Description
Contractor's all-risk insurance services
Entry 2
Scheme
CPV
Id
66515000
Description
Damage or loss insurance services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKJ14
Item 2
Id
2
Related Lot
2

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
66513200
Description
Contractor's all-risk insurance services
Entry 2
Scheme
CPV
Id
66515200
Description
Property insurance services
Entry 3
Scheme
CPV
Id
66515411
Description
Pecuniary loss insurance services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKJ14
Item 3
Id
3
Related Lot
3

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
66516400
Description
General liability insurance services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKJ14
Item 4
Id
4
Related Lot
4

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
66519200
Description
Engineering insurance services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKJ14
Item 5
Id
5
Related Lot
5

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
66513000
Description
Legal insurance and all-risk insurance services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKJ14
Item 6
Id
6
Related Lot
6

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
66512100
Description
Accident insurance services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKJ14
Item 7
Id
7
Related Lot
7

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
66516100
Description
Motor vehicle liability insurance services
Entry 2
Scheme
CPV
Id
66516400
Description
General liability insurance services
Entry 3
Scheme
CPV
Id
66516500
Description
Professional liability insurance services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKJ14
Item 8
Id
8
Related Lot
8

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
66000000
Description
Financial and insurance services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKJ14

Buyer, suppliers and contacts

Organisation 1
Name
Vale of White Horse District Council
Id
GB-FTS-138601

Identifier

Legal Name
Vale of White Horse District Council
No Identifier Rationale
notOnAnyRegister

Address

Street Address
Abbey House, Abbey Close
Locality
Abingdon
Region
UKJ14
Postal Code
OX143JE
Country Name
United Kingdom

Contact

Name
Angela Cox

Roles

buyer

Details

Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
TED_CA_TYPE
Id
REGIONAL_AUTHORITY
Description
Regional or local authority
Entry 2
Scheme
COFOG
Id
01
Description
General public services
Organisation 2
Name
Zurich Municipal
Id
GB-COH-02741053

Identifier

Legal Name
Zurich Municipal
Id
02741053
Scheme
GB-COH

Address

Locality
Fareham
Region
UKJ36
Country Name
United Kingdom

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
large
Organisation 3
Name
The High Court of Justice
Id
GB-FTS-3850

Identifier

Legal Name
The High Court of Justice

Address

Locality
London
Country Name
United Kingdom

Roles

reviewBody

Award information

Award 1
Id
098460-2026-1
Status
active

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-COH-02741053
Name
Zurich Municipal

Contracts and changes

Entry 1
Id
098460-2026-1
Award ID
098460-2026-1
Status
active
Date Signed
19 Oct 2026, 00:00

Value

Amount
134,443
Currency
GBP

Recorded locations

  • Buyer location · Abingdon · UKJ14 · OX143JE · United Kingdom
  • Delivery location · UKJ14

Notice and amendment history

1 published notice version reviewed by ProcuraAxis.

1 VERSION
  1. 098460-2026award, contract ·

PROCURAAXIS AWARD ANALYSIS

Award outcome intelligence

Evidence-bound analysis of the published award appears below the official tender and award information.

ANALYSIS PREVIEW

Award intelligence at a glance

Vale of White Horse District Council published a VEAT-related notice concerning a short extension of its insurance arrangement. The notice identifies ZURICH MANAGEMENT SERVICES LIMITED (Companies House no. 02741053) as the verified legal supplier, while the source notice names it “Zurich Municipal”. The narrative describes an intended extension to 31 March 2027 following a discontinued re-procurement; however, the structured record also marks an award and contract active and gives a contract dateSigned of 19 October 2026.

Published outcome signals

  • Notice statusComplete; displayed as awardedEvidence: Process source_status is “complete” and display_status is “awarded”.
  • Narrative positionProposed extension to 31 March 2027Evidence: The description states that the VEAT notice “relates to a proposed extension of the Contract to 31 March 2027”.
  • Structured award and contract statusAward and contract marked activeEvidence: Award 098460-2026-1 and contract 098460-2026-1 both have status “active”.
88% approved-analysis confidence1 supplier record analysed4 source limitations

SOURCE AND FRESHNESS

Traceable procurement data

Source
Find a Tender
Notice reference
098460-2026
OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-078ab4
First published
19 Oct 2026
Last checked
19 Oct 2026, 15:26
Notice versions reviewed
1

HOW THIS WAS PREPARED

Approved, evidence-bound analysis

ProcuraAxis structures information found in published procurement records, checks the result for consistency and publishes only approved analysis. Confidence describes the completeness and consistency of the available source information; it is not a guarantee of eligibility or contract award.

Analysis status
Approved for publication
Analysed
19 Oct 2026
Read the analysis methodology →