✓Tender information last checkedLast checked 13 Oct 2026, 10:41.
Opportunity overview
Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council (hereinafter referred to as the Council) is conducting a Competitive Flexible Procedure procurement in accordance with the requirements of the Procurement Act 2023 for the purpose of procuring Electrical Installation and Condition Report and Remedial works.
The contract is to ensure the council domestic housing stock of 8500 properties are kept fully compliant, that they have all been inspected by an electrician and have a current electrical safety certificate.
The contractor will carry out all remedial electrical repairs, ensure all fire and heat alarms and carbon monoxide are maintained, and each property meets with LD2 Building regulations guidance. This work will include rewiring properties dependant on their condition.
The contractor will be responsible for all customer contact including supporting engaging with hard to access properties and providing all evidence where the resident is uncooperative, with a view to get access to of all 100% properties
The contactor will also collect and provide data, certificates and pictures of all properties so the council can maintain its asset data and also to evidence the current condition of a property. This will also be used to evidence completed works/inspections.
The contract will commence on 1st October with a duration of 10 years, but an option for either party to terminate the contract at any time after the first 5 years.
Classification
CPV45310000 — Electrical installation work
CPV45311000 — Electrical wiring and fitting work
CPV45311100 — Electrical wiring work
CPV45311200 — Electrical fitting work
CPV45315100 — Electrical engineering installation works
CPV50711000 — Repair and maintenance services of electrical building installations
CPV71314100 — Electrical services
Lots
Lot 1AED 15m · Source currency differs from tender
Full details can be found in the tender document.Open source ↗
Published notice details
Additional information from the published procurement release. Fields appear only when supplied by the source; check the original notice and tender documents before acting.
Buyer location · Welwyn Garden City · UKH23 · AL8 6AE · United Kingdom
Notice and amendment history
1 published notice version reviewed by ProcuraAxis.
1 VERSION
1
096347-2026Tender notice on Find a Tender ·
PROCURAAXIS ANALYSIS
ProcuraAxis Analysis
Our approved analysis of the opportunity appears below the official tender information.
ANALYSIS PREVIEW
Opportunity intelligence at a glance
Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council is seeking a contractor to inspect and maintain electrical safety across approximately 8,500 domestic properties, complete remedial electrical works (including rewiring where needed), maintain fire/heat/CO alarms, support access to hard-to-reach homes, and provide certificates, data and photographs.
Who this may suit
Suitable for electrical inspection, testing, remedial works and domestic electrical maintenance contractors able to manage resident contact and asset-compliance evidence at portfolio scale.
Key points identified
Housing portfolio coverageApproximately 8,500 council domestic properties to be kept compliant and inspected.Evidence: "council domestic housing stock of 8500 properties"
Electrical inspection and certificationInspect properties through an electrician and maintain a current electrical safety certificate.Evidence: "they have all been inspected by an electrician and have a current electrical safety certificate"
Remedial worksCarry out remedial electrical repairs, including rewiring depending on property condition.Evidence: "This work will include rewiring properties dependant on their condition."
94% approved-analysis confidence9 supplier criteria identified4 risks or unknowns
ProcuraAxis structures information found in published procurement records, checks the result for consistency and publishes only approved analysis. Confidence describes the completeness and consistency of the available source information; it is not a guarantee of eligibility or contract award.
Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council is seeking a contractor to inspect and maintain electrical safety across approximately 8,500 domestic properties, complete remedial electrical works (including rewiring where needed), maintain fire/heat/CO alarms, support access to hard-to-reach homes, and provide certificates, data and photographs.
Who this may suit
Suitable for electrical inspection, testing, remedial works and domestic electrical maintenance contractors able to manage resident contact and asset-compliance evidence at portfolio scale.
Key deliverables
Electrical inspections and current electrical safety certificates
Remedial electrical repairs and rewiring where condition requires
Maintenance of fire, heat and carbon monoxide alarms
LD2 building-regulations guidance compliance
Resident engagement and evidence of attempts to access properties
Property data, certificates and photographic evidence
SUPPLIER REQUIREMENTS
9 criteria identified
Housing portfolio coverage
98% confidence
Approximately 8,500 council domestic properties to be kept compliant and inspected.
View supporting evidence
"council domestic housing stock of 8500 properties"
Electrical inspection and certification
98% confidence
Inspect properties through an electrician and maintain a current electrical safety certificate.
View supporting evidence
"they have all been inspected by an electrician and have a current electrical safety certificate"
Remedial works
97% confidence
Carry out remedial electrical repairs, including rewiring depending on property condition.
View supporting evidence
"This work will include rewiring properties dependant on their condition."
Alarm maintenance
96% confidence
Maintain fire alarms, heat alarms and carbon monoxide alarms.
View supporting evidence
"ensure all fire and heat alarms and carbon monoxide are maintained"
Resident engagement
94% confidence
Manage customer contact, engage hard-to-access properties, and evidence cases where residents are uncooperative.
View supporting evidence
"responsible for all customer contact including supporting engaging with hard to access properties and providing all evidence where the resident is uncooperative"
Data and completion evidence
98% confidence
Provide property data, certificates and photographs to support asset records and evidence completed works and inspections.
View supporting evidence
"collect and provide data, certificates and pictures of all properties"
Supplier eligibility requirements
99% confidence
Unknown from the supplied notice data.
View supporting evidence
No selection or exclusion requirements are stated in the supplied opportunity record.
locations: Buyer location, Welwyn Garden City, AL8 6AE.
Delivery location
93% confidence
Not explicitly stated; the work concerns the Council's domestic housing stock.
View supporting evidence
The supplied location is labelled "Buyer location" and the description refers to council housing stock.
Stated commencement
95% confidence
1 October; year not stated in the description.
View supporting evidence
"The contract will commence on 1st October"
PROCEDURE
How to respond
Opportunity status
99% confidence
Open tender.
View supporting evidence
display_status: open; source_status: active.
Procedure
99% confidence
Competitive Flexible Procedure under the Procurement Act 2023.
View supporting evidence
"conducting a Competitive Flexible Procedure procurement in accordance with the requirements of the Procurement Act 2023"
Procurement method metadata
97% confidence
Selective.
View supporting evidence
procurement_method: selective.
Submission deadline
99% confidence
30 October 2026 at 12:00 UTC.
View supporting evidence
submission_deadline: 2026-10-30T12:00:00+00:00.
Tender documentation
91% confidence
Full details are stated to be available through the Supply Hertfordshire link.
View supporting evidence
Bidding document title: "Full details can be found in the tender document." URL: http://www.supplyhertfordshire.uk/
RISKS AND UNKNOWNS
Points requiring attention
Conflicting currency data
99% confidence
The process record states a maximum value of £15,000,000, while Lot 1 records 15,000,000 AED. The supplied data does not resolve which currency applies.
View supporting evidence
process.currency: GBP; lot 1 currency: AED.
Commencement date incomplete
98% confidence
The description gives a 1 October commencement date but no year; structured contract start and end dates are null.
View supporting evidence
Description: "commence on 1st October"; contract_start_at and contract_end_at are null.
Access-performance exposure
94% confidence
The contractor is expected to engage hard-to-access properties and evidence uncooperative resident cases, creating operational and resident-contact delivery risk.
View supporting evidence
"supporting engaging with hard to access properties" and "providing all evidence where the resident is uncooperative".
Detailed selection and award requirements unavailable
94% confidence
The supplied record does not state selection criteria, award criteria, insurance requirements or required supplier accreditations.
View supporting evidence
No such requirements are included in the supplied opportunity data; the notice directs suppliers to tender documents for full details.
ProcuraAxis analysis supplements, but does not replace, the original notice and tender documents. Always verify eligibility, deadlines and commercial terms with the issuing authority.
Continue in your ProcuraAxis workspaceFree account · Full approved analysis