AWARD OUTCOME
What happened
Oxfordshire County Council has awarded and signed a direct, below-threshold works contract for the Witney Resource Centre Grid Upgrade at Moorland Road. The contract is with SOUTHERN ELECTRIC POWER DISTRIBUTION PLC and covers plant upgrade work.
Published outcomeOne active award and contract are recorded for SOUTHERN ELECTRIC POWER DISTRIBUTION PLC. The contract was signed and started on 20 August 2026.
Market significanceThe published net contract value is £89,242 (£107,090.14 gross). The procurement was conducted without competition, so no competitive participation or evaluation information is available.
AWARDED SUPPLIERS AND LOTS
1 supplier record analysed
SOUTHERN ELECTRIC POWER DISTRIBUTION PLC
99% confidenceAward 1 · Lots 1 · Shared contract value: £89,242 net; £107,090.14 gross GBP · Verified supplier; active award and contract
View supporting evidence
Award 1 identifies supplier GB-COH-04094290. Supplier verification matched company number 04094290 and confirms the legal name. The contract value is recorded at contract level, with one supplier and one lot.
LIFECYCLE
Award or contract stage
Notice type
99% confidenceContract details notice on Find a Tender
View supporting evidence
Published document 095132-2026 is described as a Contract details notice on Find a Tender.
Award status
99% confidenceActive
View supporting evidence
Award 1 has status 'active'.
Contract status
99% confidenceActive
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 has status 'active'.
Contract signed
99% confidence20 August 2026
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 records dateSigned as 2026-08-20.
Contract start
99% confidence20 August 2026
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 period startDate is 2026-08-20.
VALUES
Published values explained
Contract value, net
99% confidence£89,242
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 value.amount is 89242 GBP.
Contract value, gross
99% confidence£107,090.14
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 value.amountGross is 107090.14 GBP.
Threshold status
99% confidenceBelow threshold
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 records aboveThreshold as false.
TIMELINE
Procurement timeline
Contract signed
99% confidence20 August 2026
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 dateSigned is 2026-08-20.
Contract start
99% confidence20 August 2026
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 startDate is 2026-08-20.
Scheduled contract end
99% confidence22 March 2027
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 endDate is 2027-03-22.
Notice published
99% confidence8 October 2026
View supporting evidence
Document 095132-2026 datePublished is 2026-10-08.
Maximum extent date
99% confidence20 August 2030
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 maxExtentDate is 2030-08-20.
SCOPE
What was awarded
Requirement
98% confidenceWitney Resource Centre Grid Upgrade, Moorland Road
View supporting evidence
The tender and contract title is 'Witney Resource Centre Grid Upgrade'; the published description adds 'Moorland Road'.
Procurement category
99% confidenceWorks
View supporting evidence
Award 1 mainProcurementCategory is 'works'.
Classification
99% confidenceCPV 45259900 — Plant upgrade work
View supporting evidence
Award item 1 lists additional classification CPV 45259900, described as Plant upgrade work.
Delivery region
98% confidenceUKJ14
View supporting evidence
Award item 1 lists delivery address region UKJ14.
PROCEDURE
Procedure and competition
Procurement method
99% confidenceDirect
View supporting evidence
Tender procurementMethod is 'direct'.
Procedure detail
99% confidenceBelow threshold - without competition
View supporting evidence
Tender procurementMethodDetails is 'Below threshold - without competition'.
Competition information
99% confidenceNo competition was used
View supporting evidence
The published procedure detail explicitly states 'without competition'.
CONTRACT TERMS
Published contract terms
Initial term
99% confidence20 August 2026 to 22 March 2027
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 period runs from 2026-08-20 to 2027-03-22.
Renewal or variation provision
98% confidenceHas renewal; published description states that the timescale may be subject to variation
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 hasRenewal is true and renewal.description says 'The timescale maybe subject to variation.'
Maximum extent date
99% confidence20 August 2030
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 maxExtentDate is 2026-08-20 plus four years, recorded as 2030-08-20.
COMMERCIAL VIEW
Commercial observations
Award structure
98% confidenceSingle-supplier, single-lot works award
View supporting evidence
One active award is linked to lot 1 and names one supplier; one contract is linked to that award.
Route to market
99% confidenceDirect below-threshold procurement without competition
View supporting evidence
Published tender method is direct and procedure detail says below threshold - without competition.
Value interpretation
96% confidencePublished value is held at contract level and is attributable to the sole recorded supplier and lot
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 provides the value and is linked to award 1, which has one supplier and one related lot.
DATA QUALITY
Gaps and source limitations
Lot detail
99% confidenceLot 1 has no published title, description or separate lot value.
View supporting evidence
Lot 1 is listed only with id and complete status; no title, description or value is supplied.
Evaluation detail
99% confidenceInformation not supplied in the published notice.
View supporting evidence
No bid counts, bidder list, award criteria, scoring, pricing breakdown or award rationale is present in the supplied data.
Renewal detail
99% confidenceThe notice confirms a renewal/variation provision but does not state the number, duration or value of extensions.
View supporting evidence
hasRenewal is true; renewal text only says that the timescale may be subject to variation.
SOURCE DATA LIMITATIONS
Information not supplied in the published notice
- Lot 1 has no published title, description or individual value.
- Information not supplied in the published notice: bid counts, other bidders, evaluation criteria, scores, award rationale and pricing breakdown.
- The published renewal/variation wording does not specify extension periods, number of renewals or extension value.
MARKET THEMES
Relevant award themes
Witney Resource Centre Grid UpgradeOxfordshire County CouncilSOUTHERN ELECTRIC POWER DISTRIBUTION PLCplant upgrade workdirect awardworks contract
COMMON QUESTIONS
About this award
Who won the Witney Resource Centre Grid Upgrade contract?
SOUTHERN ELECTRIC POWER DISTRIBUTION PLC, verified under company number 04094290.
What is the contract value?
The published contract value is £89,242 net and £107,090.14 gross.
When does the contract run?
It started on 20 August 2026 and is scheduled to end on 22 March 2027, with a published maximum extent date of 20 August 2030.
Was the procurement competed?
No. The notice describes a direct, below-threshold procurement without competition.
ProcuraAxis award analysis supplements, but does not replace, the official award notice, contract data or procurement documents. “Awarded” does not by itself prove that a contract has been signed.