✓Tender information last checkedLast checked 13 Oct 2026, 11:16.
Opportunity overview
Procurement of a scalable, affordable, non-energetic FPV training capability to deliver increased training mass under the RAPSTONE programme. A competitive procurement will be used to test the market and secure value for money, taking account of current technology, supplier capacity and support solutions. Final quantities will be determined through competition, with lessons identified from FPV Tranches 1 and 2 informing the final User Requirement Document. This represents the final planned FPV training tranche under the current UBIQUITY approach and is distinct from the operational Armed FPV capability requirement.
Additional information from the published procurement release. Fields appear only when supplied by the source; check the original notice and tender documents before acting.
Clarification Questions 16 October 2026 at 12:00
The Authority issues Final Clarification Answers 20 October 2026
Tender Return 6 November 2026 at 12:00 GMT
Demonstration Session 17 November 2026
Preferred Bidder Identified 18 November 2026
Contract Award 30 November 2026
Contract Start 7 December 2026
Special regime
defenceSecurity
Submission terms
Electronic Submission Policy
allowed
Languages
en
Tender Period
Ends
6 Nov 2026, 12:00
Enquiry period
Ends
16 Oct 2026, 12:00
Expected award period
Ends
30 Nov 2026, 23:59
Amendments
Entry 1
Description
Tender dates have been updated to align with the submission deadline of 6 November.
Id
096375-2026
Lots and requirements
Entry 1
Id
1
Status
active
Has Renewal
Yes
Value
Including VAT
3,750,000
Amount
3,125,000
Currency
GBP
Award criteria
Criteria
Criterion 1
Type
quality
Name
Technical Assessment
Description
Tenderers shall provide sufficient information and evidence to enable the Authority to assess their responses against each criterion. Responses will be scored in accordance with the evaluation methodology
Following completion of Stage 1, the three highest-scoring Tenderers will be shortlisted and invited to participate in Stage 2 Demonstration Phase.
The Authority reserves the right to invite fewer than three Tenderers where fewer than three acceptable Tender Responses are received.
Shortlisted Tenderers shall be required to provide demonstration equipment and participate in a practical evaluation event.
The purpose of the demonstration is to validate the claims made within the written Tender Response and assess the suitability of the proposed FPV training drone solution in a realistic training environment.
Numbers
Entry 1
Number
75
Weight
percentageExact
Criterion 2
Type
cost
Name
Commercial Assessment
Description
The Authority has an available budget of £3,750,000 inclusive of VAT for the initial purchase and delivery of FPV Training Drone systems and associated support requirements under this Contract.
Tenderers shall submit a proposal identifying the maximum number of complete FPV Training Drone sets that can be supplied within this budget.
In addition, Tenderers shall provide a firm fixed price for the purchase of additional compliant Sets beyond those offered within the available budget. The Authority will separately assess the cost of additional Sets as part of the commercial evaluation to determine value for money and potential future scalability.
Numbers
Entry 1
Number
25
Weight
percentageExact
Suitability
Sme
Yes
Contract period
Starts
7 Dec 2026, 00:00
Ends
31 Mar 2027, 23:59
Max Extent Date
31 Mar 2028, 23:59
Renewal
Description
The contract may be extended for an addtional 12 Months
5 published notice versions reviewed by ProcuraAxis.
5 VERSIONS
1
085800-2026Preliminary market engagement notice on Find a Tender ·
2
092627-2026Pipeline notice on Find a Tender ·
3
096287-2026Tender notice on Find a Tender ·
4
096316-2026Tender notice on Find a Tender ·
5
096375-2026Tender notice on Find a Tender ·
PROCURAAXIS ANALYSIS
ProcuraAxis Analysis
Our approved analysis of the opportunity appears below the official tender information.
ANALYSIS PREVIEW
Opportunity intelligence at a glance
The Ministry of Defence is seeking a scalable, affordable, non-energetic first-person-view (FPV) training capability under the RAPSTONE programme. Competition will help determine final quantities and assess technology, supplier capacity and support solutions. This is stated to be the final planned FPV training tranche under the current UBIQUITY approach, distinct from an operational Armed FPV capability.
Who this may suit
Potential fit for suppliers of unmanned aerial vehicle/FPV training systems, associated support and scalable training-capability solutions. The notice does not state detailed technical, eligibility or accreditation requirements.
Key points identified
CapabilityScalable, affordable, non-energetic FPV training capabilityEvidence: “Procurement of a scalable, affordable, non-energetic FPV training capability”
ProgrammeRAPSTONEEvidence: “to deliver increased training mass under the RAPSTONE programme”
Competition assessmentTechnology, supplier capacity and support solutions will be consideredEvidence: “taking account of current technology, supplier capacity and support solutions”
94% approved-analysis confidence8 supplier criteria identified4 risks or unknowns
ProcuraAxis structures information found in published procurement records, checks the result for consistency and publishes only approved analysis. Confidence describes the completeness and consistency of the available source information; it is not a guarantee of eligibility or contract award.
The Ministry of Defence is seeking a scalable, affordable, non-energetic first-person-view (FPV) training capability under the RAPSTONE programme. Competition will help determine final quantities and assess technology, supplier capacity and support solutions. This is stated to be the final planned FPV training tranche under the current UBIQUITY approach, distinct from an operational Armed FPV capability.
Who this may suit
Potential fit for suppliers of unmanned aerial vehicle/FPV training systems, associated support and scalable training-capability solutions. The notice does not state detailed technical, eligibility or accreditation requirements.
Key deliverables
Scalable non-energetic FPV training capability
Training mass increase under RAPSTONE
Supplier capacity and support solutions
Final quantities to be determined through competition
SUPPLIER REQUIREMENTS
8 criteria identified
Capability
99% confidence
Scalable, affordable, non-energetic FPV training capability
View supporting evidence
“Procurement of a scalable, affordable, non-energetic FPV training capability”
Programme
98% confidence
RAPSTONE
View supporting evidence
“to deliver increased training mass under the RAPSTONE programme”
Competition assessment
96% confidence
Technology, supplier capacity and support solutions will be considered
View supporting evidence
“taking account of current technology, supplier capacity and support solutions”
Quantity
99% confidence
To be determined through competition
View supporting evidence
“Final quantities will be determined through competition”
Operational capability exclusion
99% confidence
Distinct from the operational Armed FPV capability requirement
View supporting evidence
“distinct from the operational Armed FPV capability requirement”
Supplier eligibility requirements
99% confidence
Unknown
View supporting evidence
No eligibility criteria are provided in the supplied notice data.
SME suitability
99% confidence
Unknown
View supporting evidence
suitable_for_sme is not stated.
VCSE suitability
99% confidence
Unknown
View supporting evidence
suitable_for_vcse is not stated.
COMMERCIAL AND DELIVERY
Contract intelligence
Commercial
Maximum contract/lot value
97% confidence
GBP 3,125,000
View supporting evidence
Opportunity value_max is 3125000 GBP; Lot 1 value is 3125000 GBP.
Minimum value
99% confidence
Unknown
View supporting evidence
value_min is not stated.
Commercial terms
98% confidence
Unknown
View supporting evidence
No pricing, payment, contract-form or evaluation-weighting terms are provided.
Delivery
Delivery geography
94% confidence
United Kingdom
View supporting evidence
Delivery location is recorded as region “UK”, country “United Kingdom”.
Contract start date
99% confidence
Unknown
View supporting evidence
contract_start_at is null.
Contract end date
99% confidence
Unknown
View supporting evidence
contract_end_at is null.
Delivery timetable
98% confidence
Unknown
View supporting evidence
No delivery milestones or implementation timetable are provided.
PROCEDURE
How to respond
Status
99% confidence
Open
View supporting evidence
display_status is “open”; source_status is “active”.
Notice type
99% confidence
Tender notice on Find a Tender
View supporting evidence
notice_type is “Tender notice on Find a Tender”.
Procurement method
97% confidence
Open
View supporting evidence
procurement_method is “open”.
Procedure detail
98% confidence
Competitive flexible procedure
View supporting evidence
procurement_method_details is “Competitive flexible procedure”.
Submission deadline
99% confidence
6 November 2026, 12:00 UTC
View supporting evidence
submission_deadline is 2026-11-06T12:00:00+00:00; Lot 1 has the same deadline.
Lots
99% confidence
One active lot (Lot 1); no lot title or description supplied
View supporting evidence
One lot is listed with lot_id “1”, status “active”, and null title and description.
RISKS AND UNKNOWNS
Points requiring attention
Procedure metadata inconsistency
99% confidence
The source labels the procurement method as “Open” while procedure details state “Competitive flexible procedure”. These are reported as supplied; the applicable procedure should be confirmed from the tender documents.
View supporting evidence
procurement_method is “open”; procurement_method_details is “Competitive flexible procedure”.
Scope and quantity uncertainty
98% confidence
Final quantities and the final User Requirement Document are not fixed in the supplied data.
View supporting evidence
“Final quantities will be determined through competition” and “lessons identified from FPV Tranches 1 and 2 informing the final User Requirement Document”.
Incomplete lot detail
99% confidence
Lot 1 has no supplied title or description, limiting lot-specific scope interpretation.
View supporting evidence
Lot 1 title and description are null.
Tender-document dependency
98% confidence
Detailed technical specifications, evaluation criteria, eligibility conditions, commercial terms and delivery dates are not supplied.
View supporting evidence
The supplied notice data contains no such details.
ProcuraAxis analysis supplements, but does not replace, the original notice and tender documents. Always verify eligibility, deadlines and commercial terms with the issuing authority.
Continue in your ProcuraAxis workspaceFree account · Full approved analysis