Home / Opportunities / Opportunity
PROCUREMENT OPPORTUNITY

Corrosion Testing Framework for STEP

UK Fusion Energy Ltd · Contract award notice on Find a Tender

Tender information last checkedLast checked 14 Oct 2026, 11:11.

Opportunity overview

The purpose of this procurement is to establish a framework agreement with a number of pre-qualified, specialist corrosion testing providers to deliver corrosion testing services for the UKFE STEP programme over the next two years. The framework will enable efficient and compliant call-off contracts for testing of high-temperature coolants, carrier gases, and breeder materials against STEP coolant-facing alloys and candidate tritium breeding materials as requirements arise. The framework is intended to streamline procurement and contract management, reduce the need for repeated tender exercises, improve consistency in quality and supplier performance, and enable faster delivery of future testing requirements through simplified call-off procedures. The procurement also aims to establish long-term working relationships with expert testing organisations, promote innovation and market engagement, support a broad specialist supplier base (including SMEs), and ensure compliance with the Procurement Act 2023 through transparent, competitive, and value-for-money procurement. Framework appointments are intended only for organisations that can undertake the testing directly. The testing will generate mechanistic understanding of corrosion interactions between high-temperature coolants (including light and heavy water, supercritical CO2 and helium), carrier gases (helium), STEP coolant-facing alloys, and candidate tritium breeding materials (including lithium ceramics and liquid metals), to quantify corrosion effects, identify mitigation strategies, and support the extension of component service life.

Awarded to

Amounts belong to published awards or contracts. Where several suppliers share one value, it is labelled as shared and is not a supplier-specific allocation.

Amentum Clean Energy Limited

Matched by exact name
Shared published award value
£2m
Awarded
12 Oct 2026
Suppliers
One of 5 awarded suppliers
Award ID
1
Status
pending
Identifier
GB-PPON PBDC-7744-BTPG
Location
England, UKD61, WA3 6GN, United Kingdom

Lucideon Group Limited

Matched by exact name
Shared published award value
£2m
Awarded
12 Oct 2026
Suppliers
One of 5 awarded suppliers
Award ID
1
Status
pending
Identifier
GB-PPON PJTZ-5811-NHQD
Location
Stone, UKG24, ST15 0SH, United Kingdom
Shared published award value
£2m
Awarded
12 Oct 2026
Suppliers
One of 5 awarded suppliers
Award ID
1
Status
pending
Identifier
GB-PPON PXCT-2125-RNHZ
Location
Nyköping, SE, 611 82, Sweden

The University of Manchester

Matched by exact name
Shared published award value
£2m
Awarded
12 Oct 2026
Suppliers
One of 5 awarded suppliers
Award ID
1
Status
pending
Identifier
GB-PPON PHDN-5322-MMHL
Location
Manchester, UKD33, M13 9PL, United Kingdom
Shared published award value
£2m
Awarded
12 Oct 2026
Suppliers
One of 5 awarded suppliers
Award ID
1
Status
pending
Identifier
GB-PPON PHCQ-3464-LVTM
Location
Birmingham, UKG31, B15 2TT, United Kingdom

Amentum Clean Energy Limited

Matched by exact name
Shared published award value
£2m
Awarded
12 Oct 2026
Suppliers
One of 5 awarded suppliers
Award ID
2
Status
pending
Identifier
GB-PPON PBDC-7744-BTPG
Location
England, UKD61, WA3 6GN, United Kingdom

Lucideon Group Limited

Matched by exact name
Shared published award value
£2m
Awarded
12 Oct 2026
Suppliers
One of 5 awarded suppliers
Award ID
2
Status
pending
Identifier
GB-PPON PJTZ-5811-NHQD
Location
Stone, UKG24, ST15 0SH, United Kingdom

Oxford Sigma Limited

Matched by exact name
Shared published award value
£2m
Awarded
12 Oct 2026
Suppliers
One of 5 awarded suppliers
Award ID
2
Status
pending
Identifier
GB-PPON PTXB-2792-JVCV
Location
Oxford, UKJ14, OX2 7LG, United Kingdom

The University of Manchester

Matched by exact name
Shared published award value
£2m
Awarded
12 Oct 2026
Suppliers
One of 5 awarded suppliers
Award ID
2
Status
pending
Identifier
GB-PPON PHDN-5322-MMHL
Location
Manchester, UKD33, M13 9PL, United Kingdom
Shared published award value
£2m
Awarded
12 Oct 2026
Suppliers
One of 5 awarded suppliers
Award ID
2
Status
pending
Identifier
GB-PPON PHCQ-3464-LVTM
Location
Birmingham, UKG31, B15 2TT, United Kingdom

Amentum Clean Energy Limited

Matched by exact name
Shared published award value
£2m
Awarded
12 Oct 2026
Suppliers
One of 3 awarded suppliers
Award ID
3
Status
pending
Identifier
GB-PPON PBDC-7744-BTPG
Location
England, UKD61, WA3 6GN, United Kingdom
Shared published award value
£2m
Awarded
12 Oct 2026
Suppliers
One of 3 awarded suppliers
Award ID
3
Status
pending
Identifier
GB-PPON PDZX-3628-XLQJ
Location
Tokyo, JP, 143-0006, Japan

Oxford Sigma Limited

Matched by exact name
Shared published award value
£2m
Awarded
12 Oct 2026
Suppliers
One of 3 awarded suppliers
Award ID
3
Status
pending
Identifier
GB-PPON PTXB-2792-JVCV
Location
Oxford, UKJ14, OX2 7LG, United Kingdom

Classification

No classification was supplied.

Lots

  • Lot Lot 1Value not stated
  • Lot Lot 2Value not stated
  • Lot Lot 3Value not stated

Documents and notices

Published notice details

Additional information from the published procurement release. Fields appear only when supplied by the source; check the original notice and tender documents before acting.

Scope, procedure and submissions

Id
PP-UKIFS-447
Status
complete
Procurement Method
open
Procurement Method Details
Open procedure

Legal basis

Id
2023/54
Scheme
UKPGA

Lots and requirements

Entry 1
Id
Lot 1
Status
complete
Entry 2
Id
Lot 2
Status
complete
Entry 3
Id
Lot 3
Status
complete

Buyer, suppliers and contacts

Organisation 1
Name
UK Fusion Energy Ltd
Id
GB-PPON-PCRM-7973-DCBL

Identifier

Scheme
GB-PPON
Id
PCRM-7973-DCBL

Address

Street Address
Culham Science Centre, Abingdon
Locality
Abingdon
Postal Code
OX14 3DB
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom
Region
UKJ14

Contact

Name
Operational Procurement

Roles

buyer

Details

Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
UK_CA_TYPE
Id
publicUndertaking
Description
Public undertaking
Organisation 2
Name
Lucideon Group Limited
Id
GB-PPON-PJTZ-5811-NHQD

Identifier

Scheme
GB-PPON
Id
PJTZ-5811-NHQD

Address

Street Address
Lucideon Ltd, Brooms Rd, Stone Business Park
Locality
Stone
Postal Code
ST15 0SH
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom
Region
UKG24

Contact

Name
Ismail Aldean

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
large
Vcse
No
Public Service Mission Organization
No
Sheltered Workshop
No
Organisation 3
Name
Studsvik Nuclear AB
Id
GB-PPON-PXCT-2125-RNHZ

Identifier

Scheme
GB-PPON
Id
PXCT-2125-RNHZ

Address

Street Address
Studsvik Nuclear AB Atomvägen 17
Locality
Nyköping
Postal Code
611 82
Country
SE
Country Name
Sweden
Region
SE

Contact

Name
Joakim Lundström

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
large
Vcse
No
Public Service Mission Organization
No
Sheltered Workshop
No
Organisation 4
Name
The University of Manchester
Id
GB-PPON-PHDN-5322-MMHL

Identifier

Scheme
GB-PPON
Id
PHDN-5322-MMHL

Address

Street Address
Oxford Road
Locality
Manchester
Postal Code
M13 9PL
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom
Region
UKD33

Contact

Name
Fabio Scenini

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
large
Vcse
No
Public Service Mission Organization
No
Sheltered Workshop
No
Organisation 5
Name
Amentum Clean Energy Limited
Id
GB-PPON-PBDC-7744-BTPG

Identifier

Scheme
GB-PPON
Id
PBDC-7744-BTPG

Address

Street Address
601 Faraday Street Birchwood Park Cheshire
Locality
England
Postal Code
WA3 6GN
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom
Region
UKD61

Contact

Name
MIKE LYNCH

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
large
Vcse
No
Public Service Mission Organization
No
Sheltered Workshop
No
Organisation 6
Name
University of Birmingham
Id
GB-PPON-PHCQ-3464-LVTM

Identifier

Scheme
GB-PPON
Id
PHCQ-3464-LVTM

Address

Street Address
Edbaston United Kingdom
Locality
Birmingham
Postal Code
B15 2TT
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom
Region
UKG31

Contact

Name
Ross Slater

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
large
Vcse
No
Public Service Mission Organization
No
Sheltered Workshop
No
Organisation 7
Name
Oxford Sigma Limited
Id
GB-PPON-PTXB-2792-JVCV

Identifier

Scheme
GB-PPON
Id
PTXB-2792-JVCV

Address

Street Address
Summertown Pavilion, 18-24 Middle Way
Locality
Oxford
Postal Code
OX2 7LG
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom
Region
UKJ14

Contact

Name
Mélanie Bombardiere

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
sme
Vcse
No
Public Service Mission Organization
No
Sheltered Workshop
No
Organisation 8
Name
Kyoto Fusioneering Ltd
Id
GB-PPON-PDZX-3628-XLQJ

Identifier

Scheme
GB-PPON
Id
PDZX-3628-XLQJ

Address

Street Address
Distribution A Building, AW1-S, Tokyo Ryutsu Center, 6-1-1 Heiwajima, Ota-ku
Locality
Tokyo
Postal Code
143-0006
Country
JP
Country Name
Japan
Region
JP

Contact

Name
Yuhei Nozoe

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
large
Vcse
No
Public Service Mission Organization
No
Sheltered Workshop
No

Award information

Award 1
Id
1
Title
Light (H2O) and heavy (D2O) water exposure.
Status
pending
Date
13 Oct 2026, 00:00
Main Procurement Category
services
Above Threshold
Yes
Has Renewal
Yes
Assessment Summaries Date Sent
13 Oct 2026, 00:00

Items

Item 1
Id
Lot 1
Related Lot
Lot 1

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
71632000
Description
Technical testing services
Entry 2
Scheme
CPV
Id
71610000
Description
Composition and purity testing and analysis services
Entry 3
Scheme
CPV
Id
73100000
Description
Research and experimental development services
Entry 4
Scheme
CPV
Id
71900000
Description
Laboratory services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UK
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom

Value

Including VAT
2,400,000
Amount
2,000,000
Currency
GBP

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-PPON-PJTZ-5811-NHQD
Name
Lucideon Group Limited
Supplier 2
Id
GB-PPON-PXCT-2125-RNHZ
Name
Studsvik Nuclear AB
Supplier 3
Id
GB-PPON-PHDN-5322-MMHL
Name
The University of Manchester
Supplier 4
Id
GB-PPON-PBDC-7744-BTPG
Name
Amentum Clean Energy Limited
Supplier 5
Id
GB-PPON-PHCQ-3464-LVTM
Name
University of Birmingham

Standstill Period

Ends
23 Oct 2026, 23:59

Contract period

Starts
2 Nov 2026, 00:00
Ends
2 Nov 2028, 23:59
Max Extent Date
2 Nov 2034, 23:59

Renewal

Description
The framework may include up to three extensions of two years each.

Related lots

Lot 1

Documents

Entry 1
Id
096821-2026
Document Type
awardNotice
Notice Type
UK6
Description
Contract award notice on Find a Tender
Published
14 Oct 2026, 10:04
Format
text/html

Milestones

Entry 1
Id
1
Type
futureSignatureDate
Due
26 Oct 2026, 23:59
Status
scheduled
Award 2
Id
2
Title
CO2, supercritical CO2 exposures & Helium – applicable to lot 2
Status
pending
Date
13 Oct 2026, 00:00
Main Procurement Category
services
Above Threshold
Yes
Has Renewal
Yes
Assessment Summaries Date Sent
13 Oct 2026, 00:00

Items

Item 1
Id
Lot 2
Related Lot
Lot 2

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
71610000
Description
Composition and purity testing and analysis services
Entry 2
Scheme
CPV
Id
71621000
Description
Technical analysis or consultancy services
Entry 3
Scheme
CPV
Id
71632000
Description
Technical testing services
Entry 4
Scheme
CPV
Id
71900000
Description
Laboratory services
Entry 5
Scheme
CPV
Id
73111000
Description
Research laboratory services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UK
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom

Value

Including VAT
2,400,000
Amount
2,000,000
Currency
GBP

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-PPON-PJTZ-5811-NHQD
Name
Lucideon Group Limited
Supplier 2
Id
GB-PPON-PHDN-5322-MMHL
Name
The University of Manchester
Supplier 3
Id
GB-PPON-PBDC-7744-BTPG
Name
Amentum Clean Energy Limited
Supplier 4
Id
GB-PPON-PHCQ-3464-LVTM
Name
University of Birmingham
Supplier 5
Id
GB-PPON-PTXB-2792-JVCV
Name
Oxford Sigma Limited

Standstill Period

Ends
23 Oct 2026, 23:59

Contract period

Starts
2 Nov 2026, 00:00
Ends
2 Nov 2028, 23:59
Max Extent Date
2 Nov 2034, 23:59

Renewal

Description
The framework may include up to three extensions of two years each.

Related lots

Lot 2

Documents

Entry 1
Id
096821-2026
Document Type
awardNotice
Notice Type
UK6
Description
Contract award notice on Find a Tender
Published
14 Oct 2026, 10:04
Format
text/html

Milestones

Entry 1
Id
2
Type
futureSignatureDate
Due
26 Oct 2026, 23:59
Status
scheduled
Award 3
Id
3
Title
Liquid metals – applicable to lots 3
Status
pending
Date
13 Oct 2026, 00:00
Main Procurement Category
services
Above Threshold
Yes
Has Renewal
Yes
Assessment Summaries Date Sent
13 Oct 2026, 00:00

Items

Item 1
Id
Lot 3
Related Lot
Lot 3

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
71610000
Description
Composition and purity testing and analysis services
Entry 2
Scheme
CPV
Id
71620000
Description
Analysis services
Entry 3
Scheme
CPV
Id
71632000
Description
Technical testing services
Entry 4
Scheme
CPV
Id
71900000
Description
Laboratory services
Entry 5
Scheme
CPV
Id
73100000
Description
Research and experimental development services
Entry 6
Scheme
CPV
Id
73111000
Description
Research laboratory services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UK
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom

Value

Including VAT
2,400,000
Amount
2,000,000
Currency
GBP

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-PPON-PBDC-7744-BTPG
Name
Amentum Clean Energy Limited
Supplier 2
Id
GB-PPON-PTXB-2792-JVCV
Name
Oxford Sigma Limited
Supplier 3
Id
GB-PPON-PDZX-3628-XLQJ
Name
Kyoto Fusioneering Ltd

Standstill Period

Ends
23 Oct 2026, 23:59

Contract period

Starts
2 Nov 2026, 00:00
Ends
2 Nov 2026, 23:59
Max Extent Date
2 Nov 2034, 23:59

Renewal

Description
The framework may include up to three extensions of two years each.

Related lots

Lot 3

Documents

Entry 1
Id
096821-2026
Document Type
awardNotice
Notice Type
UK6
Description
Contract award notice on Find a Tender
Published
14 Oct 2026, 10:04
Format
text/html

Milestones

Entry 1
Id
3
Type
futureSignatureDate
Due
26 Oct 2026, 23:59
Status
scheduled

Recorded locations

  • Buyer location · Abingdon · UKJ14 · OX14 3DB · United Kingdom

Notice and amendment history

3 published notice versions reviewed by ProcuraAxis.

3 VERSIONS
  1. 068996-2026Tender notice on Find a Tender ·
  2. 074225-2026Tender notice on Find a Tender ·
  3. 096821-2026Contract award notice on Find a Tender ·

PROCURAAXIS AWARD ANALYSIS

Award outcome intelligence

Evidence-bound analysis of the published award appears below the official tender and award information.

ANALYSIS PREVIEW

Award intelligence at a glance

UK Fusion Energy Ltd has published a contract award notice for a three-lot corrosion-testing framework supporting the STEP programme. All three awards remain pending, with signature milestones scheduled for 26 October 2026; the notice does not evidence concluded or active contracts.

Published outcome signals

  • Notice typeContract award notice on Find a TenderEvidence: Document 096821-2026 is described as a Contract award notice on Find a Tender.
  • Award statusPending for all three awardsEvidence: Awards 1, 2 and 3 each have status 'pending'.
  • Contract conclusionNot evidencedEvidence: Each award has a futureSignatureDate milestone scheduled for 26 October 2026; no signed-contract record is supplied.
94% approved-analysis confidence13 supplier records analysed5 source limitations

SOURCE AND FRESHNESS

Traceable procurement data

Source
Find a Tender
Notice reference
096821-2026
OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-06d079
First published
5 Aug 2026
Last checked
14 Oct 2026, 11:11
Notice versions reviewed
3

HOW THIS WAS PREPARED

Approved, evidence-bound analysis

ProcuraAxis structures information found in published procurement records, checks the result for consistency and publishes only approved analysis. Confidence describes the completeness and consistency of the available source information; it is not a guarantee of eligibility or contract award.

Analysis status
Approved for publication
Analysed
14 Oct 2026
Read the analysis methodology →