Home / Opportunities / Opportunity
PROCUREMENT OPPORTUNITY

Kerbside Fibres & Mixed Containers (Dumfries & Castle Douglas)

Dumfries and Galloway Council · award, contract

Tender information last checkedLast checked 16 Oct 2026, 15:17.

Opportunity overview

The Council are seeking offers from suitably licenced service providers to receive, treat and/or dispose of a number of resource streams with a view to managing them in accordance with the waste hierarchy. The contract requirements are split into two waste streams over two separate lots as detailed within ‘Kerbside Fibres & Mixed Containers Specification’ within the Invitation to Tender (ITT) and shown below. The contract(s) will be awarded on lot basis, with the Tenderer being able to bid for one, any or all of the lots without penalty. 1 - Fibres (mixed paper, card & cardboard) (Dumfries & Castle Douglas) 2 - Containers (metals, plastics & cartons) (Dumfries & Castle Douglas)

Awarded to

Amounts belong to published awards or contracts. Where several suppliers share one value, it is labelled as shared and is not a supplier-specific allocation.

Contract value
£123.3k
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
20 Sept 2026
Award ID
097973-2026-1
Status
active
Location
Carlisle, UKD1, CA1 2ST, United Kingdom

NORTH WEST RECYCLING LTD

Matched by exact name
Contract value
£274.7k
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
20 Sept 2026
Award ID
097973-2026-2
Status
active
Location
CARLISLE, UKD1, CA6 4RW, United Kingdom

Classification

  • CPV90500000 — Refuse and waste related services
  • CPV90513000 — Non-hazardous refuse and waste treatment and disposal services
  • CPV90513100 — Household-refuse disposal services
  • CPV90514000 — Refuse recycling services

Lots

  • Fibres (mixed paper, card & cardboard) (Dumfries & Castle Douglas)Value not stated
  • Containers (metals, plastics & cartons) (Dumfries & Castle Douglas)Value not stated

Published notice details

Additional information from the published procurement release. Fields appear only when supplied by the source; check the original notice and tender documents before acting.

Scope, procedure and submissions

Id
DGCP-0946
Status
complete
Main Procurement Category
services
Procurement Method
open
Procurement Method Details
Open procedure

Legal basis

Id
32014L0024
Scheme
CELEX

Classification

Scheme
CPV
Id
90500000
Description
Refuse and waste related services

Covered By

GPA

Lots and requirements

Entry 1
Id
1
Title
Fibres (mixed paper, card & cardboard) (Dumfries & Castle Douglas)
Description
This resource stream consists of all paper fibres collected at the kerbside in DGC’s “Paper, Card and Cardboard” blue bins in the Nithsdale and Stewartry operational areas of Dumfries and Galloway and in skips from the HWRCs in these areas. This material is offered loose (i.e., not baled). This Lot will be collected by the winning bidder in their own (or a suitably qualified sub-contractor’s) walking floor articulated vehicle, or another suitable vehicle type as agreed. (EWC 20 01 01)
Has Options
No
Status
cancelled

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Name
Quality
Type
quality
Description
40
Criterion 2
Type
price
Description
60
Entry 2
Id
2
Title
Containers (metals, plastics & cartons) (Dumfries & Castle Douglas)
Description
This resource stream consists of all the containers dry recyclate stream (i.e., food & drink cans; plastic bottles, pots, tubs & trays; and food & drink cartons (aka ‘Tetra-Paks’)) collected at the kerbside in DGC’s “Metals, Plastics and Cartons” red bins in the Nithsdale and Stewartry operational areas of Dumfries and Galloway and in skips from the HWRCs in these areas. This material is offered loose (i.e., not baled). This Lot will be collected by the winning bidder in their own (or a suitably qualified sub-contractor’s) walking floor articulated vehicle, or another suitable vehicle type as agreed. (EWC 15 01 06)
Has Options
No
Status
cancelled

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Name
Quality
Type
quality
Description
40
Criterion 2
Type
price
Description
60

Items and delivery

Item 1
Id
1
Related Lot
1

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
90513000
Description
Non-hazardous refuse and waste treatment and disposal services
Entry 2
Scheme
CPV
Id
90514000
Description
Refuse recycling services
Entry 3
Scheme
CPV
Id
90513100
Description
Household-refuse disposal services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKM92

Delivery Location

Description
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway.
Item 2
Id
2
Related Lot
2

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
90513000
Description
Non-hazardous refuse and waste treatment and disposal services
Entry 2
Scheme
CPV
Id
90514000
Description
Refuse recycling services
Entry 3
Scheme
CPV
Id
90513100
Description
Household-refuse disposal services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKM92

Delivery Location

Description
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway

Buyer, suppliers and contacts

Organisation 1
Name
Dumfries and Galloway Council
Id
GB-FTS-1510

Identifier

Legal Name
Dumfries and Galloway Council

Address

Street Address
Procurement Team, Carruthers House
Locality
Dumfries
Region
UKM92
Postal Code
DG1 2HP
Country Name
United Kingdom

Contact

Name
Karen Mclachlan
Telephone
+44 3033333000

Roles

buyer
centralPurchasingBody

Details

Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
TED_CA_TYPE
Id
REGIONAL_AUTHORITY
Description
Regional or local authority
Entry 2
Scheme
COFOG
Id
01
Description
General public services
Organisation 2
Name
Cumbria Waste Recycling Ltd
Id
GB-FTS-171407

Identifier

Legal Name
Cumbria Waste Recycling Ltd

Address

Street Address
Unit 5a Wavell Drive, Rosehill Industrial Estate
Locality
Carlisle
Region
UKD1
Postal Code
CA1 2ST
Country Name
United Kingdom

Contact

Telephone
+44 3452413333
Fax Number
+44 3452413333

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
sme
Organisation 3
Name
NORTH WEST RECYCLING LTD
Id
GB-FTS-187634

Identifier

Legal Name
NORTH WEST RECYCLING LTD

Address

Street Address
UNIT A, KINGMOOR PARK, ROCKCLIFFE ESTATE
Locality
CARLISLE
Region
UKD1
Postal Code
CA6 4RW
Country Name
United Kingdom

Contact

Telephone
+44 1228672999
Fax Number
+44 1228672999

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
sme
Organisation 4
Name
Dumfries Sheriff Court
Id
GB-FTS-1511

Identifier

Legal Name
Dumfries Sheriff Court

Address

Street Address
Buccleuch Street
Locality
Dumfries
Postal Code
DG1 2AN
Country Name
United Kingdom

Roles

reviewBody

Award information

Award 1
Id
097973-2026-1
Title
Fibres (mixed paper, card & cardboard) (Dumfries & Castle Douglas)
Status
active

Related lots

1

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-FTS-171407
Name
Cumbria Waste Recycling Ltd
Award 2
Id
097973-2026-2
Title
Containers (metals, plastics & cartons) (Dumfries & Castle Douglas)
Status
active

Related lots

2

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-FTS-187634
Name
NORTH WEST RECYCLING LTD

Contracts and changes

Entry 1
Id
097973-2026-1
Award ID
097973-2026-1
Title
Fibres (mixed paper, card & cardboard) (Dumfries & Castle Douglas)
Status
active
Date Signed
21 Sept 2026, 00:00

Value

Amount
123,262.5
Currency
GBP
Entry 2
Id
097973-2026-2
Award ID
097973-2026-2
Title
Containers (metals, plastics & cartons) (Dumfries & Castle Douglas)
Status
active
Date Signed
21 Sept 2026, 00:00

Value

Amount
274,695.35
Currency
GBP

Recorded locations

  • Buyer location · Dumfries · UKM92 · DG1 2HP · United Kingdom
  • Delivery location · UKM92

Notice and amendment history

2 published notice versions reviewed by ProcuraAxis.

2 VERSIONS
  1. 053482-2026tender ·
  2. 097973-2026award, contract ·

PROCURAAXIS AWARD ANALYSIS

Award outcome intelligence

Evidence-bound analysis of the published award appears below the official tender and award information.

ANALYSIS PREVIEW

Award intelligence at a glance

Dumfries and Galloway Council published an award and contract notice for two kerbside recyclate processing lots covering Dumfries and Castle Douglas. The notice records contracts signed on 21 September 2026 with Cumbria Waste Recycling Ltd for fibres and NORTH WEST RECYCLING LIMITED for mixed containers.

Published outcome signals

  • Notice publicationAward and contract notice published 16 October 2026.Evidence: Release history records release 097973-2026 as an award, contract notice dated 2026-10-16.
  • Contract signatureTwo contracts are recorded as signed on 21 September 2026.Evidence: Both contract records have status active and dateSigned 2026-09-21.
  • Contract commencementUnknown.Evidence: No contract start date is supplied.
90% approved-analysis confidence2 supplier records analysed3 source limitations

SOURCE AND FRESHNESS

Traceable procurement data

Source
Find a Tender
Notice reference
097973-2026
OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-06af0d
First published
5 Jun 2026
Last checked
16 Oct 2026, 15:17
Notice versions reviewed
2

HOW THIS WAS PREPARED

Approved, evidence-bound analysis

ProcuraAxis structures information found in published procurement records, checks the result for consistency and publishes only approved analysis. Confidence describes the completeness and consistency of the available source information; it is not a guarantee of eligibility or contract award.

Analysis status
Approved for publication
Analysed
17 Oct 2026
Read the analysis methodology →