AWARD OUTCOME
What happened
Milton Keynes City Council awarded HASKONING UK LIMITED a contract for commuter travel-pattern studies and planning with major employers in Milton Keynes, focused on car use and increasing public transport participation.
Published outcomeOne active award for lot 1 is linked to an active contract with HASKONING UK LIMITED. The contract record explicitly reports signature on 29 May 2026 and a term from 1 June 2026 to 31 March 2028.
Market significanceThe published contract value is £129,433 excluding VAT (£155,319.60 including VAT) for transport and highways consultancy services.
AWARDED SUPPLIERS AND LOTS
1 supplier record analysed
HASKONING UK LIMITED
99% confidenceAward 1 · Lots 1 · £129,433 excluding VAT; £155,319.60 including VAT (contract-level value) GBP · Verified supplier; active award and linked active contract
View supporting evidence
Award 1 names HASKONING UK LIMITED as supplier for lot 1. Supplier verification records an exact-name match to company number 01336844. The contract linked to award 1 provides the contract-level value.
LIFECYCLE
Award or contract stage
Tender status
99% confidenceComplete
View supporting evidence
Tender status is recorded as "complete" in the source data.
Award status
99% confidenceActive
View supporting evidence
Award 1 is recorded with status "active".
Contract status
99% confidenceActive
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 is recorded with status "active".
Contract signature
99% confidenceSigned on 29 May 2026
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 gives dateSigned as 2026-05-29.
VALUES
Published values explained
Contract value excluding VAT
99% confidence£129,433
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 value.amount is 129433 GBP.
Contract value including VAT
99% confidence£155,319.60
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 value.amountGross is 155319.6 GBP.
Published maximum value field
85% confidence£168,000
View supporting evidence
The opportunity-level value_max field is 168000 GBP; no basis is supplied for this figure.
TIMELINE
Procurement timeline
Tender notice first published
99% confidence19 January 2026
View supporting evidence
Release history records Tender notice release 004486-2026 on 2026-01-19.
Published submission deadline
99% confidence27 February 2026, 17:00 UTC
View supporting evidence
The process submission_deadline is 2026-02-27T17:00:00+00:00.
Contract signed
99% confidence29 May 2026
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 dateSigned is 2026-05-29.
Contract start
99% confidence1 June 2026
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 period.startDate is 2026-06-01.
Contract end
99% confidence31 March 2028
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 period.endDate is 2028-03-31.
Contract details notice published
99% confidence16 October 2026
View supporting evidence
The contract details notice is dated 2026-10-16 in the document record and release history.
SCOPE
What was awarded
Requirement
99% confidenceCommuter studies in Milton Keynes with major employers, exploring car use and increasing public transport participation.
View supporting evidence
The published tender description states this scope.
Procurement category
99% confidenceServices
View supporting evidence
The award and process identify the main procurement category as services.
Classifications
99% confidenceTransport systems consultancy services (CPV 71311200); Highways consultancy services (CPV 71311210).
View supporting evidence
Award item 1 lists these additional CPV classifications.
Delivery area
93% confidenceMilton Keynes area (UKJ12)
View supporting evidence
Award item 1 lists delivery region UKJ12; the buyer is located in Milton Keynes.
PROCEDURE
Procedure and competition
Procedure
99% confidenceOpen competition below threshold
View supporting evidence
The process records procurementMethod as "open" and procurementMethodDetails as "Below threshold - open competition".
Lots
99% confidenceOne published lot (lot 1)
View supporting evidence
Tender data contains lot 1, and award 1 is related to lot 1.
Bid and evaluation information
99% confidenceUnknown
View supporting evidence
Information not supplied in the published notice data.
CONTRACT TERMS
Published contract terms
Term
99% confidence1 June 2026 to 31 March 2028
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 period records these start and end dates.
Duration
98% confidenceApproximately 22 months
View supporting evidence
Calculated from the explicit contract period of 1 June 2026 to 31 March 2028.
Extension or renewal options
99% confidenceUnknown
View supporting evidence
Information not supplied in the published notice data.
Above-threshold status
99% confidenceNo
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 records aboveThreshold as false.
COMMERCIAL VIEW
Commercial observations
Value comparison
90% confidenceThe published £168,000 maximum field is £38,567 higher than the £129,433 contract value excluding VAT; the source does not state whether the maximum is a budget, ceiling, or another measure.
View supporting evidence
Process value_max is £168,000; contract 1 value.amount is £129,433.
Market focus
94% confidenceThe requirement combines travel-behaviour research with transport and highways consultancy.
View supporting evidence
The description concerns commuter behaviour and public transport participation, while the award carries transport systems and highways consultancy CPVs.
DATA QUALITY
Gaps and source limitations
Value-field interpretation
99% confidenceTwo different published value fields are present. The contract record gives £129,433 excluding VAT and £155,319.60 including VAT, while the opportunity field gives £168,000 with no stated basis. They are reported separately.
View supporting evidence
Contract 1 value fields and process value_max provide the figures; value_basis is null.
Lot detail
99% confidenceLot 1 has no published title, description, or individual value.
View supporting evidence
Lot 1 title, description and value fields are null.
Award-date detail
99% confidenceNo standalone award date is supplied.
View supporting evidence
Award 1 award_date is null.
Publication timing
99% confidenceThe contract details notice was published on 16 October 2026, after the stated signature and start dates.
View supporting evidence
Contract dateSigned is 29 May 2026, startDate is 1 June 2026, and the contract details notice date is 16 October 2026.
SOURCE DATA LIMITATIONS
Information not supplied in the published notice
- Information not supplied in the published notice: bid count, bidder identities, evaluation scores, award rationale, pricing breakdown and extension or renewal terms.
- Lot 1 has no published title, description or individual value.
- No standalone award date is supplied.
- The source provides an unexplained £168,000 maximum value alongside the lower contract value; their relationship is not stated.
MARKET THEMES
Relevant award themes
Milton Keynes City CouncilHASKONING UK LIMITEDcommuter travel patternstransport consultancypublic transport planningUK public procurement
COMMON QUESTIONS
About this award
Who won the Commuter Travel Patterns and Planning contract?
HASKONING UK LIMITED won award 1 for lot 1.
What is the contract value?
The contract record states £129,433 excluding VAT and £155,319.60 including VAT.
When does the contract run?
The published contract period is 1 June 2026 to 31 March 2028.
ProcuraAxis award analysis supplements, but does not replace, the official award notice, contract data or procurement documents. “Awarded” does not by itself prove that a contract has been signed.