Home / Opportunities / Opportunity
PROCUREMENT OPPORTUNITY

National Specialist Medicines Services (NSMS) 2027-30

NHS England · Contract award notice on Find a Tender

Tender information last checkedLast checked 15 Oct 2026, 13:26.

Opportunity overview

The National Specialist Medicines Service (NSMS) provides specialist national services covering medicines procurement, quality assurance, medicines optimisation, safer medicines use and coordination. It supports NHS England and the wider NHS through specialist expertise and nationally coordinated medicines services.

Awarded to

Amounts belong to published awards or contracts. Where several suppliers share one value, it is labelled as shared and is not a supplier-specific allocation.

Classification

No classification was supplied.

Lots

  • Lot 1Value not stated
  • Lot 2Value not stated
  • Lot 3Value not stated
  • Lot 4Value not stated
  • Lot 5Value not stated

Documents and notices

Published notice details

Additional information from the published procurement release. Fields appear only when supplied by the source; check the original notice and tender documents before acting.

Scope, procedure and submissions

Id
C403537
Status
complete
Procurement Method
open
Procurement Method Details
Open procedure

Legal basis

Id
2023/54
Scheme
UKPGA

Lots and requirements

Entry 1
Id
1
Status
complete
Entry 2
Id
2
Status
complete
Entry 3
Id
3
Status
complete
Entry 4
Id
4
Status
complete
Entry 5
Id
5
Status
complete

Buyer, suppliers and contacts

Organisation 1
Name
NHS England
Id
GB-PPON-PDPT-3135-BWWY

Identifier

Scheme
GB-PPON
Id
PDPT-3135-BWWY

Address

Street Address
Wellington House, 133-135 Waterloo Rd
Locality
London
Postal Code
SE1 8UG
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom
Region
UKI45

Contact

Name
David Stack

Roles

buyer

Details

Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
UK_CA_TYPE
Id
publicAuthorityCentralGovernment
Description
Public authority - central government
Organisation 2
Name
Liverpool University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (LUHFT)
Id
GB-PPON-PGJT-9638-TWQR

Identifier

Scheme
GB-PPON
Id
PGJT-9638-TWQR

Address

Street Address
Liverpool University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, LOWER LANE, LONGMOOR LANE
Locality
Liverpool
Postal Code
L9 7AL
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom
Region
UKD72

Contact

Roles

supplier
tenderer

Details

Scale
large
Vcse
No
Public Service Mission Organization
No
Sheltered Workshop
No

Award information

Award 1
Id
1
Title
National Specialist Medicines Services (NSMS) 2027-30
Status
pending
Date
14 Oct 2026, 00:00
Main Procurement Category
services
Above Threshold
Yes
Has Renewal
Yes
Has Options
Yes
Assessment Summaries Date Sent
15 Oct 2026, 00:00

Items

Item 1
Id
1
Related Lot
1

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
85149000
Description
Pharmacy services
Item 2
Id
2
Related Lot
2

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
85149000
Description
Pharmacy services
Item 3
Id
3
Related Lot
3

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
85149000
Description
Pharmacy services
Item 4
Id
4
Related Lot
4

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
85149000
Description
Pharmacy services
Item 5
Id
5
Related Lot
5

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
85149000
Description
Pharmacy services

Value

Including VAT
32,400,000
Amount
27,000,000
Currency
GBP

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-PPON-PGJT-9638-TWQR
Name
Liverpool University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (LUHFT)

Standstill Period

Ends
26 Oct 2026, 23:59

Contract period

Starts
1 Apr 2027, 00:00
Ends
31 Mar 2030, 23:59
Max Extent Date
31 Mar 2031, 23:59

Renewal

Description
Option to extend for further 12 months subject to approval

Options

Description
Option to extend for further 12 months subject to approval

Related lots

1
2
3
4
5

Documents

Entry 1
Id
097403-2026
Document Type
awardNotice
Notice Type
UK6
Description
Contract award notice on Find a Tender
Published
15 Oct 2026, 11:53
Format
text/html

Milestones

Entry 1
Id
1
Type
futureSignatureDate
Due
17 Nov 2026, 23:59
Status
scheduled

Recorded locations

  • Buyer location · London · UKI45 · SE1 8UG · United Kingdom

Notice and amendment history

3 published notice versions reviewed by ProcuraAxis.

3 VERSIONS
  1. 031969-2026Preliminary market engagement notice on Find a Tender ·
  2. 050788-2026Tender notice on Find a Tender ·
  3. 097403-2026Contract award notice on Find a Tender ·

PROCURAAXIS AWARD ANALYSIS

Award outcome intelligence

Evidence-bound analysis of the published award appears below the official tender and award information.

ANALYSIS PREVIEW

Award intelligence at a glance

NHS England has published a contract award notice naming Liverpool University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (LUHFT) as the proposed supplier for National Specialist Medicines Services (NSMS) 2027-30. The award covers lots 1 to 5 and has a stated net value of £27 million (£32.4 million gross).

Published outcome signals

  • Published award notice15 October 2026Evidence: Award document 097403-2026 is dated 2026-10-15; release history identifies it as a Contract award notice on Find a Tender.
  • Award statusPendingEvidence: Award 1 has status 'pending'.
  • Award decision date14 October 2026Evidence: Award 1 date is 2026-10-14.
95% approved-analysis confidence1 supplier record analysed5 source limitations

SOURCE AND FRESHNESS

Traceable procurement data

Source
Find a Tender
Notice reference
097403-2026
OCID
ocds-h6vhtk-04ff2c
First published
29 May 2026
Last checked
15 Oct 2026, 13:26
Notice versions reviewed
3

HOW THIS WAS PREPARED

Approved, evidence-bound analysis

ProcuraAxis structures information found in published procurement records, checks the result for consistency and publishes only approved analysis. Confidence describes the completeness and consistency of the available source information; it is not a guarantee of eligibility or contract award.

Analysis status
Approved for publication
Analysed
15 Oct 2026
Read the analysis methodology →