Home / Opportunities / Opportunity
PROCUREMENT OPPORTUNITY

Insourced elective theatre capacity

MERSEY AND WEST LANCASHIRE TEACHING HOSPITALS NHS TRUST · award, contract

Tender information last checkedLast checked 26 Sept 2026, 06:37.

Opportunity overview

additional consultant led capacity to carry out elective procedures in T and O , Urology, Plastics and general surgery

Awarded to

Amounts belong to published awards or contracts. Where several suppliers share one value, it is labelled as shared and is not a supplier-specific allocation.

Published award value
Value not stated
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
5 Aug 2026
Award ID
074925-2026-1
Status
active
Identifier
GB-COH OC368747
Location
Warrington, UKD, United Kingdom

Classification

  • CPV85000000 — Health and social work services

Lots

  • The aim of the subcontracted services is to provide additional elective clinical capacity across Trauma and Orthopaedics, Urology, Plastics and General Surgery on an as and when required basis, in order to support the Head Provider's elective recovery programme, reduce waiting lists and improve timely access to care for patients who have chosen Mersey and West Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust as their provider. The subcontractor will deliver safe, effective and high-quality clinical services in accordance with agreed clinical pathways, applicable Trust policies, NHS Standard Contract requirements and relevant professional standards. Services will be delivered by appropriately qualified, competent and registered clinical staff, with appropriate clinical governance, information governance, safeguarding and escalation arrangements in place. The desired outcomes are to increase elective activity, reduce the number of patients waiting for treatment, support reduction in long-waiting patients, maintain safe clinical outcomes, improve patient experience, and ensure accurate and timely reporting of activity, quality and performance information to the Head Provider for contract management, commissioner reporting and assurance purposes.Value not stated

Published notice details

Additional information from the published procurement release. Fields appear only when supplied by the source; check the original notice and tender documents before acting.

Scope, procedure and submissions

Id
ocds-h6vhtk-06de42
Status
complete
Main Procurement Category
services
Procurement Method
limited
Procurement Method Details
Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition
Why this procedure was chosen
Current provider contract awarded under direct award C of PSR regulations. The new contract value satisfies the PSR criteria.

Legal basis

Id
32014L0024
Scheme
CELEX

Classification

Scheme
CPV
Id
85000000
Description
Health and social work services

Covered By

GPA

Procedure reasons

Entry 1
Scheme
TED_PT_AWARD_CONTRACT_WITHOUT_CALL
Id
D_ADD_DELIVERIES_ORDERED
Description
Additional deliveries by the original supplier ordered under the strict conditions stated in the directive

Lots and requirements

Entry 1
Id
1
Description
The aim of the subcontracted services is to provide additional elective clinical capacity across Trauma and Orthopaedics, Urology, Plastics and General Surgery on an as and when required basis, in order to support the Head Provider's elective recovery programme, reduce waiting lists and improve timely access to care for patients who have chosen Mersey and West Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust as their provider. The subcontractor will deliver safe, effective and high-quality clinical services in accordance with agreed clinical pathways, applicable Trust policies, NHS Standard Contract requirements and relevant professional standards. Services will be delivered by appropriately qualified, competent and registered clinical staff, with appropriate clinical governance, information governance, safeguarding and escalation arrangements in place. The desired outcomes are to increase elective activity, reduce the number of patients waiting for treatment, support reduction in long-waiting patients, maintain safe clinical outcomes, improve patient experience, and ensure accurate and timely reporting of activity, quality and performance information to the Head Provider for contract management, commissioner reporting and assurance purposes.
Has Options
No
Status
cancelled

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Type
price

Items and delivery

Item 1
Id
1
Related Lot
1

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKD

Delivery Location

Description
Main sites include: Whiston Hospital, St Helens Hospital, Southport Hospital and Ormskirk.

Buyer, suppliers and contacts

Organisation 1
Name
MERSEY AND WEST LANCASHIRE TEACHING HOSPITALS NHS TRUST
Id
GB-FTS-185596

Identifier

Legal Name
MERSEY AND WEST LANCASHIRE TEACHING HOSPITALS NHS TRUST
Id
RBN
Scheme Entered
Mersey and West Lancashire teaching Hospital NHS trust

Address

Street Address
Whiston Hospital, Warrington Rd
Locality
Prescot
Region
UKD7
Postal Code
L355DR
Country Name
United Kingdom

Contact

Name
julie Hartley

Roles

buyer

Details

Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
TED_CA_TYPE
Id
BODY_PUBLIC
Description
Body governed by public law
Entry 2
Scheme
COFOG
Id
07
Description
Health
Organisation 2
Name
St Helens Independent Medical Clinic LLP
Id
GB-COH-OC368747

Identifier

Legal Name
St Helens Independent Medical Clinic LLP
Id
OC368747
Scheme
GB-COH

Address

Locality
Warrington
Region
UKD
Country Name
United Kingdom

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
sme
Organisation 3
Name
Independent Patient Choice and Procurement Panel (IPCPP), established by NHS England.
Id
GB-FTS-185597

Identifier

Legal Name
Independent Patient Choice and Procurement Panel (IPCPP), established by NHS England.

Address

Locality
Leeds
Country Name
United Kingdom

Roles

reviewBody

Award information

Award 1
Id
074925-2026-1
Title
Insourced Elective Theatre capacity
Status
active

Related lots

1

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-COH-OC368747
Name
St Helens Independent Medical Clinic LLP

Contracts and changes

Entry 1
Id
074925-2026-1
Award ID
074925-2026-1
Title
Insourced Elective Theatre capacity
Status
active
Date Signed
6 Aug 2026, 00:00

Recorded locations

  • Buyer location · Prescot · UKD7 · L355DR · United Kingdom
  • Delivery location · UKD

Notice and amendment history

1 published notice version reviewed by ProcuraAxis.

1 VERSION
  1. 074925-2026award, contract ·