Home / Opportunities / Opportunity
PROCUREMENT OPPORTUNITY

Birkenhead Market (TJ Hughes) Refurbishment & Fit Out

Wirral Council · Contract details notice on Find a Tender

Tender information last checkedLast checked 26 Sept 2026, 19:47.

Opportunity overview

Wirral Council appointed a Principal Contractor under a Pre Construction Services Agreement (PCSA) in relation to refurbishment works for the reuse of the former TJ Hughes department store (Unit 33-35, Borough Pavement, CH41 2XX) to form the new Birkenhead Market. The project forms a key component of the wider regeneration of Birkenhead, providing a vibrant new market destination in the town centre. This notice is intended to cover all "Pre-Construction Services" and "Early Works" being performed under the PCSA.

Awarded to

Amounts belong to published awards or contracts. Where several suppliers share one value, it is labelled as shared and is not a supplier-specific allocation.

Published award value
Value not stated
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
5 Jul 2026
Award ID
1
Status
active
Identifier
GB-COH 05974400
Location
Knowsley, UKD71, L33 7UR, United Kingdom

Classification

No classification was supplied.

Lots

  • Lot 1Value not stated

Documents and notices

Published notice details

Additional information from the published procurement release. Fields appear only when supplied by the source; check the original notice and tender documents before acting.

Scope, procedure and submissions

Id
ocds-h6vhtk-06d137
Status
complete
Procurement Method
limited
Procurement Method Details
Below threshold - limited competition

Legal basis

Id
2023/54
Scheme
UKPGA

Lots and requirements

Entry 1
Id
1
Status
complete

Buyer, suppliers and contacts

Organisation 1
Name
Wirral Council
Id
GB-PPON-PBCP-8675-BHWT

Identifier

Scheme
GB-PPON
Id
PBCP-8675-BHWT

Address

Street Address
Town Hall, Brighton Street
Locality
Wallasey
Postal Code
CH44 8ED
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom
Region
UKD74

Contact

Roles

buyer

Details

Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
UK_CA_TYPE
Id
publicAuthoritySubCentralGovernment
Description
Public authority - sub-central government
Organisation 2
Name
KROL CORLETT CONSTRUCTION LIMITED
Id
GB-COH-05974400

Identifier

Scheme
GB-COH
Id
05974400

Additional Identifiers

Entry 1
Scheme
GB-PPON
Id
PVGD-1851-VGYV

Address

Street Address
Morgan Brightside Building Bradman Road
Locality
Knowsley
Postal Code
L33 7UR
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom
Region
UKD71

Contact

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
sme
Vcse
No

Award information

Award 1
Id
1
Status
active
Main Procurement Category
services

Items

Item 1
Id
1
Related Lot
1

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
45000000
Description
Construction work
Entry 2
Scheme
CPV
Id
71500000
Description
Construction-related services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKD74
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom

Additional Procurement Categories

works

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-COH-05974400
Name
KROL CORLETT CONSTRUCTION LIMITED

Related lots

1

Contracts and changes

Entry 1
Id
1
Award ID
1
Status
active
Has Renewal
Yes
Above Threshold
No
Date Signed
6 Jul 2026, 00:00

Period

Starts
6 Jul 2026, 00:00
Ends
31 Aug 2026, 23:59
Max Extent Date
30 Sept 2026, 23:59

Renewal

Description
The PSCA will continue until all deliverables are complete and a contract sum and programme is agreed for the main works.

Value

Including VAT
133,011.6
Currency
GBP

Documents

Entry 1
Id
069334-2026
Document Type
contractNotice
Notice Type
UK7
Description
Contract details notice on Find a Tender
Published
22 Jul 2026, 16:17
Format
text/html

Recorded locations

  • Buyer location · Wallasey · UKD74 · CH44 8ED · United Kingdom

Notice and amendment history

1 published notice version reviewed by ProcuraAxis.

1 VERSION
  1. 069334-2026Contract details notice on Find a Tender ·