Home / Opportunities / Opportunity
PROCUREMENT OPPORTUNITY

Independent Scrutineer SEND

Northumberland County Council · Contract details notice on Find a Tender

Tender information last checkedLast checked 25 Sept 2026, 13:11.

Opportunity overview

Northumberland County Council wishes to commission a suitably experienced provider to undertake the role of Independent Scrutineer of the Northumberland Strategic SEND Partnership. The provider must be able to offer independent scrutiny, rigorous constructive challenge, independent chair role and objective assurance to support the SEND Partnership to fulfil its responsibilities for improving outcomes, experiences and inclusion for children and young people with SEND and their families. The role includes: • Providing assurance regarding the effectiveness of local multiagency SEND arrangements, with a particular focus on practice, co production, lived experience, and impact. • Supporting the inclusion of the voice of children, young people and families in decision-making and quality assurance. • Providing an independent view of the effectiveness, pace and impact of SEND improvement activity, including progress against inspection findings and the Local Area SEND Reform Plan. The SEND Partnership Board, workstreams and subgroups meet on a quarterly schedule. The Independent Scrutineer will be required to provide scrutiny and challenge across the Partnership, hold partners to account, and provide an independent view of the effectiveness of SEND arrangements across education, health and care. The role will be required to chair the partnership quarterly board meetings. This is an evolving role, aligned to the national SEND reform programme (2026-2035), the Local SEND Reform Plan, and the Local Partnership Maturity Assessment.

Awarded to

Amounts belong to published awards or contracts. Where several suppliers share one value, it is labelled as shared and is not a supplier-specific allocation.

Published award value
Value not stated
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
20 Aug 2026
Award ID
1
Status
active
Identifier
GB-PPON PVJX-4757-HRGV
Location
Whitley Bay, UKC22, NE25 9GE, United Kingdom

Classification

No classification was supplied.

Lots

  • Lot 1Value not stated

Documents and notices

Published notice details

Additional information from the published procurement release. Fields appear only when supplied by the source; check the original notice and tender documents before acting.

Scope, procedure and submissions

Id
NCC1990
Status
complete
Procurement Method
open
Procurement Method Details
Below threshold - open competition

Legal basis

Id
2023/54
Scheme
UKPGA

Lots and requirements

Entry 1
Id
1
Status
complete

Buyer, suppliers and contacts

Organisation 1
Name
Northumberland County Council
Id
GB-PPON-PJJX-1133-JRGV

Identifier

Scheme
GB-PPON
Id
PJJX-1133-JRGV

Address

Street Address
County Hall
Locality
Morpeth
Postal Code
NE61 2EF
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom
Region
UKC21

Contact

Name
Rosie Cross

Roles

buyer

Details

Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
UK_CA_TYPE
Id
publicAuthoritySubCentralGovernment
Description
Public authority - sub-central government
Organisation 2
Name
Janet Arris Independent Consultant
Id
GB-PPON-PVJX-4757-HRGV

Identifier

Scheme
GB-PPON
Id
PVJX-4757-HRGV

Address

Street Address
16 Hauxley Drive
Locality
Whitley Bay
Postal Code
NE25 9GE
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom
Region
UKC22

Contact

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
large
Vcse
No

Award information

Award 1
Id
1
Status
active
Main Procurement Category
services

Items

Item 1
Id
1
Related Lot
1

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
75120000
Description
Administrative services of agencies
Entry 2
Scheme
CPV
Id
85300000
Description
Social work and related services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKC21
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-PPON-PVJX-4757-HRGV
Name
Janet Arris Independent Consultant

Related lots

1

Contracts and changes

Entry 1
Id
1
Award ID
1
Title
Independent Scrutineer SEND
Status
active
Has Renewal
Yes
Above Threshold
No
Date Signed
21 Aug 2026, 00:00

Period

Starts
1 Sept 2026, 00:00
Ends
31 Aug 2028, 23:59
Max Extent Date
31 Aug 2029, 23:59

Renewal

Description
Extension to Contract End Date available by such period as required, subject to maximum period of 1 year and a minimum period of 30 days, by giving the Supplier not less than 30 days written notice prior to Contract End Date.

Value

Including VAT
96,000
Currency
GBP

Documents

Entry 1
Id
080519-2026
Document Type
contractNotice
Notice Type
UK7
Description
Contract details notice on Find a Tender
Published
24 Aug 2026, 16:12
Format
text/html

Recorded locations

  • Buyer location · Morpeth · UKC21 · NE61 2EF · United Kingdom

Notice and amendment history

2 published notice versions reviewed by ProcuraAxis.

2 VERSIONS
  1. 065271-2026Tender notice on Find a Tender ·
  2. 080519-2026Contract details notice on Find a Tender ·