Home / Opportunities / Opportunity
PROCUREMENT OPPORTUNITY

SBC 0126 Provision of Property Management Services and Business Support Services at the Business and Technology Centre (BTC) and Chells Industrial Units (CIU)

Stevenage Borough Council · Contract details notice on Find a Tender

Tender information last checkedLast checked 2 Oct 2026, 12:52.

Opportunity overview

Provision of Property Management Services and Business Support Services at the Business Technology Centre (BTC), Bessemer Drive, Stevenage, SG1 2DX and Chells Industrial Units (CIU), The Glebe, Chells Way, Stevenage, SG2 0LQ. The contract value £6,274,035 excluding VAT £7,528,842 including VAT. The contract will run from 1st July 2026 - 30th June 2031. In February 2025 the UK Government formally invited Stevenage Borough Council (the "Council") and the various other Councils of Hertfordshire to develop proposals for local government reorganisation in Hertfordshire which is likely to result in the current two-tier system of local government being reorganised into a single tier of local government with one or more unitary councils for the whole of the Hertfordshire area. If implemented, local government reorganisation is currently expected to take effect in April 2028 and, on that date, the existing two-tier councils will be dissolved and replaced by one or more new unitary authorities. Existing contracts held by the Council and the other Councils of Hertfordshire are expected to transfer to their successor authorities on vesting day in accordance with the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 and the Local Government (Structural Changes) (Transfer of Functions, Property, Rights and Liabilities) Regulations 2008. These reforms will be subject to a decision of the Secretary of State and could be subject to change at any time. As these reforms may occur during the term of this contract and result in changes to the form, structure, size and shape of local government in Hertfordshire, they are a known risk to the Council within the meaning of paragraph 6, Schedule 8 of the Procurement Act 2023 (Act) in that the reforms could jeopardise the satisfactory performance of the contract but because the nature and extent of the reforms are presently unknown, it is not possible to address the risks in the contract. If these risks materialise, the contract may need to be modified under paragraph 5 of Schedule 8 of the Act. Such modification could include, but not be limited to, the need to replace the contracting authority with a successor public authority and/or vary the structure, scope, nature and/or geographical location/boundary within which the contract is delivered. The contract start date will be 1st July 2026. There is a technical issue with the inserting of this date on the notice.

Awarded to

Amounts belong to published awards or contracts. Where several suppliers share one value, it is labelled as shared and is not a supplier-specific allocation.

Published award value
Value not stated
Awarded
Not supplied
Award ID
1
Status
active
Identifier
GB-COH 02519883
Location
Watford, UKH23, WD24 7ND, United Kingdom
Contract value
£6.3m
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
1 Jul 2026
Including VAT
£7.5m
Award ID
2
Status
active
Identifier
GB-COH 02519883
Location
Watford, UKH23, WD24 7ND, United Kingdom

Classification

No classification was supplied.

Lots

  • Lot 1Value not stated

Documents and notices

Published notice details

Additional information from the published procurement release. Fields appear only when supplied by the source; check the original notice and tender documents before acting.

Scope, procedure and submissions

Id
CCD01636
Status
complete
Procurement Method
direct
Procurement Method Details
Direct award
Why this procedure was chosen
By way of a Tender Notice issued on 23 January 2026 Stevenage Borough Council (Council) commenced a single stage tendering procedure (an open procedure) pursuant to section 20 of the Procurement Act 2023 (Act) inviting tenders for the Provision of Property Management Services and Business Support Services at the Business Technology Centre (BTC), Bessemer Drive, Stevenage, SG1 2DX and Chells Industrial Units (CIU), The Glebe, Chells Way, Stevenage, SG2 0LQ. The Tender Notice identifier is 2026/S 000-006245 and a link to the Tender Notice is available at https://www.findtender.service.gov.uk/Notice/006245-2026?origin=SearchResults&p=1 The tender process was a competitive tendering procedure under section 20 of the Act and the deadline for the receipt of tenders was 27th February 2026. No tender submissions were received in response to the Tender Notice. As the Council has carried out a competitive tendering procedure and received no suitable tenders in response to that tender process, it is permitted to award a contract directly to a supplier (that is not an excluded supplier) pursuant to section 43(1) of the Act where it considers that an award following a competitive tendering procedure is not possible. Given that no bids were received in response to the Tender Notice, the Council is satisfied that an award following a competitive tendering procedure under section 19 is not possible in the circumstances and the Council now intends to award a contract directly to Wenta Business Centres Limited under section 43(1). The chosen supplier is currently providing the services. The council has carried out checks to ensure the chosen supplier is not an excluded supplier within the meaning of the Act. As part of its decision to make a direct award under section 43(1), the possibility of carrying out a further tendering procedure has been considered. The Council is satisfied that time constraints would make it highly challenging to maintain the continuity of service at the BTC and CIU if the Council retendered and there is also a high probability of attracting an identical outcome with no suitable tenders which would leave the Council with no operator when the current contract expires.

Legal basis

Id
2023/54
Scheme
UKPGA

Special regime

concession

Procedure reasons

Entry 1
Id
switchingDirectAward

Lots and requirements

Entry 1
Id
1
Status
complete

Published documents

Entry 1
Id
conflictOfInterest
Document Type
conflictOfInterest
Description
Not published

Buyer, suppliers and contacts

Organisation 1
Name
Stevenage Borough Council
Id
GB-PPON-PHLV-8626-LHWZ

Identifier

Scheme
GB-PPON
Id
PHLV-8626-LHWZ

Address

Street Address
Daneshill House, Danestrete
Locality
Stevenage
Postal Code
SG1 1HN
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom
Region
UKH23

Contact

Roles

buyer

Details

Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
UK_CA_TYPE
Id
publicAuthoritySubCentralGovernment
Description
Public authority - sub-central government
Organisation 2
Name
WENTA BUSINESS CENTRES LIMITED
Id
GB-COH-02519883

Identifier

Scheme
GB-COH
Id
02519883

Additional Identifiers

Entry 1
Scheme
GB-PPON
Id
PZXY-3536-GJWR

Address

Street Address
Colne Way
Locality
Watford
Postal Code
WD24 7ND
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom
Region
UKH23

Contact

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
sme
Vcse
Yes
Public Service Mission Organization
No
Sheltered Workshop
No

Award information

Award 1
Id
2
Status
active
Main Procurement Category
services

Items

Item 1
Id
1
Related Lot
1

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
79400000
Description
Business and management consultancy and related services
Entry 2
Scheme
CPV
Id
79993000
Description
Building and facilities management services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKH23
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-COH-02519883
Name
WENTA BUSINESS CENTRES LIMITED

Related lots

1

Contracts and changes

Entry 1
Id
2
Award ID
2
Title
SBC 0126 Provision of Property Management Services and Business Support Services at the Business and Technology Centre (BTC) and Chells Industrial Units (CIU)
Status
active
Above Threshold
Yes
Date Signed
2 Jul 2026, 00:00

Period

Starts
2 Jul 2026, 00:00
Ends
30 Jun 2031, 23:59

Value

Including VAT
7,528,842
Amount
6,274,035
Currency
GBP

Documents

Entry 1
Id
A-23477
Document Type
contractSigned
Format
application/pdf
Entry 2
Id
093241-2026
Document Type
contractNotice
Notice Type
UK7
Description
Contract details notice on Find a Tender
Published
2 Oct 2026, 11:35
Format
text/html

Recorded locations

  • Buyer location · Stevenage · UKH23 · SG1 1HN · United Kingdom

Notice and amendment history

4 published notice versions reviewed by ProcuraAxis.

4 VERSIONS
  1. 042173-2026Transparency notice on Find a Tender ·
  2. 058510-2026Contract award notice on Find a Tender ·
  3. 062491-2026Contract details notice on Find a Tender ·
  4. 093241-2026Contract details notice on Find a Tender ·