Home / Opportunities / Opportunity
PROCUREMENT OPPORTUNITY

Prison Healthcare Services HMP Brixton & HMP/YOI Feltham

NHS England (London Region) · award, contract

Tender information last checkedLast checked 23 Sept 2026, 11:52.

Opportunity overview

NHS England (London Region) ("the Authority") is recommissioning prison healthcare services ("the Service") across two London secure and detained estates. The procurement comprises two Lots, HMP Brixton (Lot 1) and HMP/YOI Feltham A and B (Lot 2), together covering the adult secure estate and the children and young people custodial estate. The Service will be delivered in line with NHS England's New Models of Care Service Specification, providing integrated primary care, mental health, substance misuse, public health and specialist healthcare from reception screening through to release planning, with continuity of care between prison and community services. At Feltham YOI, it will deliver a distinct, age-appropriate and therapeutic model aligned with national guidance for Children and Young People, focused on safeguarding, trauma-informed care and early intervention. Working closely with HM Prison and Probation Service, the Youth Custody Service, Integrated Care Boards, local NHS providers, local authorities and voluntary sector organisations, the Service aims to improve health outcomes, reduce health inequalities, support rehabilitation and resettlement, and ensure access to safe, high-quality healthcare equivalent to that available in the community. This is a Provider Selection Regime (PSR) intention to award notice. The awarding of these contracts is subject to the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023. For the avoidance of doubt, the provisions of the Procurement Act 2023 do not apply to these awards. The procurement has been managed by NHS London Commercial Hub, hosted by NHS North East London ICB, on behalf of the Authority, using the Competitive Process under regulation 11, with the five regulation 5 key criteria forming the basis of evaluation.

Awarded to

Amounts belong to published awards or contracts. Where several suppliers share one value, it is labelled as shared and is not a supplier-specific allocation.

Practice Plus Group

Matched by number
Contract value
£67m
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
15 Sept 2026
Award ID
088208-2026-1
Status
active
Identifier
GB-COH 03462881
Location
Reading, UKJ, United Kingdom

Classification

  • CPV85000000 — Health and social work services

Lots

  • HMP BrixtonValue not stated
  • HMP Feltham (A) & YOI Feltham (B)Value not stated

Published notice details

Additional information from the published procurement release. Fields appear only when supplied by the source; check the original notice and tender documents before acting.

Scope, procedure and submissions

Id
PRJ2228
Status
complete
Main Procurement Category
services
Procurement Method
open
Procurement Method Details
Open procedure

Legal basis

Id
32014L0024
Scheme
CELEX

Classification

Scheme
CPV
Id
85000000
Description
Health and social work services

Covered By

GPA

Lots and requirements

Entry 1
Id
1
Title
HMP Brixton
Description
Lot 1 covers the provision of integrated healthcare services at HMP Brixton for an adult custodial population. Services will be delivered in line with the London Prison Healthcare New Models of Care and must provide safe, effective and patient-centred healthcare. The Service will deliver reception and secondary screening; primary care; mental health services; substance misuse services; public health, screening and immunisations; pharmacy, diagnostics and pathology; sexual health and allied health services; smoking cessation; care for older people in custody; access to secondary and tertiary care; discharge planning; healthcare administration; and portering and cleaning of clinical areas. Dental services are excluded from the scope of this procurement as they are commissioned separately. The Service may also be required to support the Enhanced Support Service (ESS) model of care within HMP Brixton, including provision of ring-fenced nursing resource where specified. The Service will be delivered through an integrated model covering early days in custody, planned care, urgent and emergency care, and release and transfer. It will work closely with HM Prison and Probation Service, commissioners, community providers and other partners to improve health outcomes, reduce health inequalities and support continuity of care and effective transitions between custody and community services. The Authority intends to award the Lot 1 contract under the Competitive Process for an initial term of 5 years (60 months), with an optional extension of up to 2 years (24 months), giving a maximum term of 7 years (84 months). The initial term value is £47,878,945 and the approximate lifetime value, including the extension, is £67,030,523.
Has Options
Yes
Status
cancelled

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Name
Procurement Specific Questionnaire
Type
quality
Description
0
Criterion 2
Name
ITT Questionnaire
Type
quality
Description
49
Criterion 3
Name
Lot 1 - HMP Brixton
Type
quality
Description
39
Criterion 4
Name
Presentation & Interview Stage
Type
quality
Description
12
Criterion 5
Name
FMT (10% in Lot allocated weighting)
Type
cost
Description
0

Options

Description
Additional 24 months at the authority's discretion
Entry 2
Id
2
Title
HMP Feltham (A) & YOI Feltham (B)
Description
Lot 2 covers the provision of integrated healthcare services across HMP/YOI Feltham A and Feltham B. The chosen provider will deliver the Service across both sites under a single Lead Provider model, with separate service specifications applying to each part of the estate. Feltham A will be delivered in line with the Children and Young People Health and Wellbeing specification, the Healthcare Standards for Children and Young People in Secure Settings (2023) and other relevant national guidance and policy. Feltham B will be delivered in line with the London Prison Healthcare New Models of Care for the adult secure and detained estate. The Service will deliver reception and secondary screening; primary care; mental health services; substance misuse services; public health, screening and immunisations; pharmacy services; diagnostics and pathology; sexual health services; allied health services; smoking cessation; access to secondary and tertiary care; discharge planning; healthcare administration; and portering and cleaning of clinical areas. Dental services are excluded from the scope of this procurement as they are commissioned separately. At Feltham A, the Service will deliver a distinct, age-appropriate and therapeutic health and wellbeing model for children and young people. This will include integrated primary care, mental health and wellbeing support, safeguarding, proactive identification of need, coordinated care planning, and a whole-setting, trauma-informed approach in line with the Framework for Integrated Care. At Feltham B, the Service will follow the adult integrated care model covering early days in custody, planned care, urgent and emergency care, and release and transfer. The Service will work closely with HM Prison and Probation Service, the Youth Custody Service, education providers, commissioners, community providers and other partners. Together they will support integrated care delivery, safeguarding and effective care transitions, improve health and wellbeing outcomes, reduce health inequalities, and ensure continuity of care for children, young people and adults across the Feltham estate. The Authority intends to award the Lot 2 contract under the Competitive Process for an initial term of 5 years (60 months), with an optional extension of up to 2 years (24 months), giving a maximum term of 7 years (84 months). The initial term value is £39,465,375 and the approximate lifetime value, including the extension, is £55,251,525.
Has Options
Yes
Status
cancelled

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Name
Procurement Specific Questionnaire
Type
quality
Description
0
Criterion 2
Name
ITT Questionnaire
Type
quality
Description
49
Criterion 3
Name
Lot 2 - HMP/YOI Feltham
Type
quality
Description
39
Criterion 4
Name
Presentation & Interview Stage
Type
quality
Description
12
Criterion 5
Name
FMT (10% in Lot allocated weighting)
Type
cost
Description
0

Options

Description
Additional 24 months at the authority's discretion

Items and delivery

Item 1
Id
1
Related Lot
1

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
85000000
Description
Health and social work services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKI
Item 2
Id
2
Related Lot
2

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
85000000
Description
Health and social work services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKI

Buyer, suppliers and contacts

Organisation 1
Name
NHS England (London Region)
Id
GB-NHS-Y56

Identifier

Legal Name
NHS England (London Region)
Id
Y56
Scheme
GB-NHS

Address

Street Address
10th Floor, 10 South Colonnade, Canary Wharf
Locality
London
Region
UKI
Postal Code
E14 4PU
Country Name
United Kingdom

Contact

Name
Thomas Crouch

Roles

buyer

Details

Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
TED_CA_TYPE
Id
BODY_PUBLIC
Description
Body governed by public law
Entry 2
Scheme
COFOG
Id
07
Description
Health
Organisation 2
Name
Practice Plus Group
Id
GB-COH-03462881

Identifier

Legal Name
Practice Plus Group
Id
03462881
Scheme
GB-COH

Address

Locality
Reading
Region
UKJ
Country Name
United Kingdom

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
large
Organisation 3
Name
Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust
Id
GB-NHS-RV3

Identifier

Legal Name
Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust
Id
RV3
Scheme
GB-NHS

Address

Locality
London
Region
UKI
Country Name
United Kingdom

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
large
Organisation 4
Name
NHS England
Id
GB-FTS-7114

Identifier

Legal Name
NHS England

Address

Locality
London
Country Name
United Kingdom

Roles

reviewBody

Award information

Award 1
Id
088208-2026-1
Status
active

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-COH-03462881
Name
Practice Plus Group
Award 2
Id
088208-2026-2
Status
active

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-NHS-RV3
Name
Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust

Contracts and changes

Entry 1
Id
088208-2026-1
Award ID
088208-2026-1
Status
active
Date Signed
16 Sept 2026, 00:00

Value

Amount
67,030,523
Currency
GBP
Entry 2
Id
088208-2026-2
Award ID
088208-2026-2
Status
active
Date Signed
16 Sept 2026, 00:00

Value

Amount
55,251,525
Currency
GBP

Recorded locations

  • Buyer location · London · UKI · E14 4PU · United Kingdom
  • Delivery location · UKI

Notice and amendment history

3 published notice versions reviewed by ProcuraAxis.

3 VERSIONS
  1. 008370-2026planning ·
  2. 027542-2026tender ·
  3. 088208-2026award, contract ·