Home / Opportunities / Opportunity
PROCUREMENT OPPORTUNITY

Celtic Sea Floating Offshore Wind Leasing Round 5 - Project Development Area 2 - Direct Award

The Crown Estate · compiled

Tender information last checkedLast checked 30 Sept 2026, 13:01.

Opportunity overview

The Crown Estate is seeking to enter into a concession contract for the grant of new seabed rights to a developer for the development of a new floating offshore wind farm within a project development area (a "PDA") in the Celtic Sea, which has a maximum potential energy generation capacity of 1.5GW. These rights will be governed by an 'agreement for lease', the holder of which will acquire the rights necessary to develop a floating offshore wind farm in the relevant PDA and will have the option to enter into a lease with The Crown Estate for the construction and operation of the wind farm for the purposes of the generation, transmission and sale of electricity (or other forms of energy, where permitted), subject to the satisfaction of certain conditions detailed in the agreement for lease. The maximum contract value has been stated in this notice as [0.01 GBP] as The Crown Estate is unable to state a maximum contract value for the PDA which is the subject of this transparency notice, due to the impossibility of predicting what the likely overall value of the concession to the developer will be. The option fee price which will be payable by the developer to The Crown Estate under the agreement for lease for the PDA which is the subject of this transparency notice will be 350 GBP/MW/annum. The estimated dates for the agreement for lease are 20 February 2026 to 19 February 2036.

Awarded to

Amounts belong to published awards or contracts. Where several suppliers share one value, it is labelled as shared and is not a supplier-specific allocation.

Ocean Winds UK Limited

Match pending…
Published award value
Value not stated
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
19 Nov 2025
Award ID
075437-2025-1
Status
active
Identifier
07101190
Location
London, UK, EC3V 9AA, United Kingdom

Classification

  • CPV71500000 — Construction-related services
  • CPV09310000 — Electricity
  • CPV31121320 — Wind turbines
  • CPV31121340 — Wind farm
  • CPV45200000 — Works for complete or part construction and civil engineering work
  • CPV45251160 — Wind-power installation works
  • CPV45262421 — Offshore mooring work
  • CPV45262422 — Subsea drilling work
  • CPV45262424 — Offshore-module fabrication work
  • CPV45315200 — Turbine works
  • CPV45315300 — Electricity supply installations

Lots

  • Refer to section II.1.4) above and Annex D4 below.Value not stated

Published notice details

Additional information from the published procurement release. Fields appear only when supplied by the source; check the original notice and tender documents before acting.

Scope, procedure and submissions

Id
ocds-h6vhtk-05e4de
Status
complete
Procurement Method
limited
Main Procurement Category
services
Procurement Method Details
Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition
Why this procedure was chosen
Important note: The contract which is the subject of this notice is being awarded by The Crown Estate by way of switching to a direct award following an unsuccessful tendering procedure, as explained further below. Please note that a transparency notice has also been published in respect of this direct award (notice identifier: 2025/S 000-075016; procurement identifier: ocds-h6vhtk-05e3e2). For the avoidance of doubt, the two notices relate to the same (i.e. single) direct award., which is being run in accordance with the PA 2023. The contract is to be awarded directly to a supplier that is not an excluded supplier by virtue of section 43 of the Procurement Act 2023 ("PA 2023"). The Crown Estate held a competitive tender process for the granting of new seabed rights to developers for the development of new floating offshore wind farms within three PDAs, which was advertised by way of a concession notice published on Find a Tender on 28 February 2024 (notice identifier: 2024/S 000-006434) (Celtic Sea Floating Offshore Wind Leasing Round 5 ("Round 5")). The Round 5 tender process was designed to result in the award of three separate agreements for lease to three different successful suppliers - one for each of the three PDAs. Two bidders remained at the final (auction) stage of the process and bid successfully for two of the PDAs. Under the rules of the Round 5 tender process no bidder could be awarded rights in respect of more than one PDA and no tender was received for the third PDA. The Crown Estate considers that for the purposes of section 43(2) of the PA 2023 no tenders were received for the agreement for lease for the third PDA. The Crown Estate considers that an award of the contract under section 19 of the PA 2023 is not possible in the circumstances. A delay to granting rights in respect of the third PDA while a further full competitive tender process is designed and run risks a number of potentially significant adverse effects on all three PDAs. Timely deployment of all three PDAs is needed to provide the certainty the supply chain, ports and other critical infrastructure need to plan and invest in floating wind in the UK. Without the full award of three PDAs, it is possible that the necessary investment in supply chain and ports may not be forthcoming (or may be delayed) resulting in possible delay to delivery. Any delays to the award of the third PDA could also delay skills development and the necessary investment in people required to support Round 5, causing delays in deployment of the programme. In addition, the experience and outcome of the Round 5 tender provide compelling evidence that the current challenging market conditions are such that a further, lengthy full tender process is unlikely to deliver a successful outcome for the third PDA.

Legal basis

Id
32014L0023
Scheme
CELEX

Classification

Id
71500000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Construction-related services

Procedure reasons

Entry 1
Id
D_NO_TENDERS_REQUESTS
Scheme
TED_PT_AWARD_CONTRACT_WITHOUT_CALL
Description
No applications, no tenders or no suitable tenders/applications in response to a prior concession award procedure

Lots and requirements

Entry 1
Id
1
Has Options
No
Description
Refer to section II.1.4) above and Annex D4 below.

Items and delivery

Item 1
Id
1
Related Lot
1

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UK

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Id
09310000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Electricity
Entry 2
Id
31121320
Scheme
CPV
Description
Wind turbines
Entry 3
Id
31121340
Scheme
CPV
Description
Wind farm
Entry 4
Id
45200000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Works for complete or part construction and civil engineering work
Entry 5
Id
45251160
Scheme
CPV
Description
Wind-power installation works
Entry 6
Id
45262421
Scheme
CPV
Description
Offshore mooring work
Entry 7
Id
45262422
Scheme
CPV
Description
Subsea drilling work
Entry 8
Id
45262424
Scheme
CPV
Description
Offshore-module fabrication work
Entry 9
Id
45315200
Scheme
CPV
Description
Turbine works
Entry 10
Id
45315300
Scheme
CPV
Description
Electricity supply installations

Buyer, suppliers and contacts

Organisation 1
Id
GB-FTS-91822
Name
The Crown Estate

Roles

buyer

Address

Region
UK
Locality
London
Postal Code
SW1Y 4AH
Country Name
United Kingdom
Street Address
1 St James's Market

Details

Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
TED_CA_TYPE
Description
Public Corporation
Entry 2
Scheme
COFOG
Description
Property management

Identifier

Legal Name
The Crown Estate

Contact

Telephone
+44 2078515000
Organisation 2
Id
GB-FTS-167029
Name
Ocean Winds UK Limited

Roles

supplier

Address

Region
UK
Locality
London
Postal Code
EC3V 9AA
Country Name
United Kingdom
Street Address
Shepherd And Wedderburn Llp

Details

Scale
large

Identifier

Id
07101190
Legal Name
Ocean Winds UK Limited

Contact

Organisation 3
Id
GB-FTS-4330
Name
The Royal Courts of Justice

Roles

reviewBody

Address

Locality
London
Postal Code
WC2A 2LL
Country Name
United Kingdom
Street Address
The Strand

Identifier

Legal Name
The Royal Courts of Justice

Award information

Award 1
Id
075437-2025-1
Status
active
Has Subcontracting
Yes

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-FTS-167029
Name
Ocean Winds UK Limited

Related lots

1

Contracts and changes

Entry 1
Id
075437-2025-1
Status
active
Award ID
075437-2025-1
Date Signed
19 Nov 2025, 00:00

Recorded locations

  • Buyer location · London · UK · SW1Y 4AH · United Kingdom
  • Delivery location · UK

Notice and amendment history

1 published notice version reviewed by ProcuraAxis.

1 VERSION
  1. ocds-h6vhtk-05e4de-2025-11-19T18:28:05Zcompiled ·