Home / Opportunities / Opportunity
PROCUREMENT OPPORTUNITY

Histopathology Specimen Reporting Outsourcing

NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership-Procurement Services (hosted by Velindre University NHS Trust) · compiled

Tender information last checkedLast checked 30 Sept 2026, 09:03.

Opportunity overview

This notice marks the intention to award a contract for Cwm Taf Morgannwg under the Health Trust Europe (HTE) Diagnostic solutions, Lot 2 Pathology Reporting under the Health Services (Provider Selection Regime- Wales 2025) Cellular Pathology Services to include transport, processing, and reporting of wet tissue samples and digital images

Awarded to

Amounts belong to published awards or contracts. Where several suppliers share one value, it is labelled as shared and is not a supplier-specific allocation.

Cyted UK Ltd

Match pending…
Contract value
£2m
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
8 Sept 2025
Award ID
056133-2025-1
Status
active
Location
Huntingdon, UKH12, PE29 6FG, United Kingdom

Classification

  • CPV85111800 — Pathology services

Lots

  • Testing & reporting on Dermatology & Placenta SpecialitiesValue not stated
  • Testing & reporting on Head & Neck, Gynaecology, Urology, Breast, General & Gastrointestinal SpecialitiesValue not stated

Published notice details

Additional information from the published procurement release. Fields appear only when supplied by the source; check the original notice and tender documents before acting.

Scope, procedure and submissions

Id
CTM-DCO-161
Status
complete
Review Details
Deadline ends at midnight on the 24th of September 2025
Procurement Method
limited
Main Procurement Category
services
Procurement Method Details
Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition
Why this procedure was chosen
This notice marks the intention to award a contract under the HealthTrust Europe (HTE) Framework Agreement – Diagnostic Service Solutions, Lot 2 Pathology Reporting under the Health Services (Provider Selection Regime) (Wales) Regulations 2025.

Legal basis

Id
32014L0024
Scheme
CELEX

Classification

Id
85111800
Scheme
CPV
Description
Pathology services

Procedure reasons

Entry 1
Id
D_REPETITION_EXISTING
Scheme
TED_PT_AWARD_CONTRACT_WITHOUT_CALL
Description
New works/services, constituting a repetition of existing works/services and ordered in accordance with the strict conditions stated in the directive

Lots and requirements

Entry 1
Id
1
Title
Testing & reporting on Dermatology & Placenta Specialities
Status
cancelled
Has Options
No
Description
This notice is an intention to award a contract for Cwm Taf Morgannwg under the Health Trust Europe (HTE) Diagnostic solutions, Lot 2 Pathology Reporting under the Health Services (Provider Selection Regime- Wales 2025) for continuation of Provision of outsourced Histopathology Reporting services to support increased demand and capacity shortfalls within Cwm Taf Morgannwg UHB’s Cellular Pathology department. Services include transport, processing, and reporting of wet tissue samples and digital images across multiple specialties: Dermatology, Head & Neck, Gynaecology, Urology, Breast, General, Placenta, and Gastrointestinal. For the avoidance of doubt, the provisions of the Public Contracts Regulations 2015/Procurement Act 2023 do not apply to this award. The publication of this notice marks the start of the standstill period up to midnight 24th September 2025. This contract has not yet formally been awarded; this notice serves as an intention to award under the PSR Wales

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Name
Quality
Type
quality
Description
40%
Criterion 2
Name
Social responsibility
Type
quality
Description
10%
Criterion 3
Name
Collaboration & Service Sustainability
Type
quality
Description
15%
Criterion 4
Name
Improving Access & Reducing Health Inequalities
Type
quality
Description
15%
Criterion 5
Name
Value
Type
cost
Description
20%
Entry 2
Id
2
Title
Testing & reporting on Head & Neck, Gynaecology, Urology, Breast, General & Gastrointestinal Specialities
Status
cancelled
Has Options
No
Description
This notice is an intention to award a contract for Cwm Taf Morgannwg under the Health Trust Europe (HTE) Diagnostic solutions, Lot 2 Pathology Reporting under the Health Services (Provider Selection Regime- Wales 2025) for continuation of Transport, processing, and reporting of wet tissue samples and digital images across multiple specialties: Head & Neck, Gynaecology, Urology, Breast, General and Gastrointestinal. The publication of this notice marks the start of the standstill period up to midnight 24th August 2025. This contract has not yet formally been awarded; this notice serves as an intention to award under the PSR Wales

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Name
Quality
Type
quality
Description
40%
Criterion 2
Name
Social responsibility
Type
quality
Description
10%
Criterion 3
Name
Collaboration & Service Sustainability
Type
quality
Description
15%
Criterion 4
Name
Improving Access & Reducing Health Inequalities
Type
quality
Description
15%
Criterion 5
Name
Value
Type
cost
Description
20%

Items and delivery

Item 1
Id
1
Related Lot
1

Delivery Location

Description
Central Valleys

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKL15

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Id
85111800
Scheme
CPV
Description
Pathology services
Item 2
Id
2
Related Lot
2

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKL15

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Id
85111800
Scheme
CPV
Description
Pathology services

Buyer, suppliers and contacts

Organisation 1
Id
GB-FTS-109
Name
NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership-Procurement Services (hosted by Velindre University NHS Trust)

Roles

buyer
centralPurchasingBody

Address

Region
UK
Locality
Cardiff
Postal Code
CF15 7QZ
Country Name
United Kingdom
Street Address
4-5 Charnwood Court,, Heol Billingsley, Parc Nantgarw

Details

Classifications

Entry 1
Id
BODY_PUBLIC
Scheme
TED_CA_TYPE
Description
Body governed by public law
Entry 2
Id
07
Scheme
COFOG
Description
Health

Identifier

Legal Name
NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership-Procurement Services (hosted by Velindre University NHS Trust)

Contact

Name
Steven Leonard
Telephone
+44 2921501500
Organisation 2
Id
GB-FTS-160045
Name
Cyted UK Ltd

Roles

supplier

Address

Region
UKH12
Locality
Huntingdon
Postal Code
PE29 6FG
Country Name
United Kingdom
Street Address
2 Falcon Road, Hinchingbrooke Business Park

Details

Scale
large

Identifier

Legal Name
Cyted UK Ltd

Contact

Telephone
+44 07379896236
Organisation 3
Id
GB-FTS-160704
Name
Source BioScience UK Limited (Now trading as Source LDPath)

Roles

supplier

Address

Region
UKF14
Locality
Nottingham
Postal Code
NG86PX
Country Name
United Kingdom
Street Address
1 Orchard Place, Nottingham Business Park

Details

Scale
large

Identifier

Legal Name
Source BioScience UK Limited (Now trading as Source LDPath)

Contact

Telephone
+44 7899996522
Organisation 4
Id
GB-FTS-111
Name
High Court

Roles

reviewBody

Address

Locality
London
Postal Code
WC2A 2LL
Country Name
United Kingdom
Street Address
Royal Courts of Justice, The Strand

Identifier

Legal Name
High Court

Contact

Telephone
+44 2079477501

Award information

Award 1
Id
056133-2025-1
Title
Testing & reporting on Dermatology & Placenta Specialities
Status
active

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-FTS-160045
Name
Cyted UK Ltd

Related lots

1
Award 2
Id
056133-2025-2
Title
Testing & reporting on Head & Neck, Gynaecology, Urology, Breast, General & Gastrointestinal Specialities
Status
active

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-FTS-160704
Name
Source BioScience UK Limited (Now trading as Source LDPath)

Related lots

2

Contracts and changes

Entry 1
Id
056133-2025-1
Title
Testing & reporting on Dermatology & Placenta Specialities
Status
active
Award ID
056133-2025-1
Date Signed
9 Sept 2025, 00:00

Value

Amount
2,000,000
Currency
GBP
Entry 2
Id
056133-2025-2
Title
Testing & reporting on Head & Neck, Gynaecology, Urology, Breast, General & Gastrointestinal Specialities
Status
active
Award ID
056133-2025-2
Date Signed
9 Sept 2025, 00:00

Value

Amount
2,000,000
Currency
GBP

Recorded locations

  • Buyer location · Cardiff · UK · CF15 7QZ · United Kingdom
  • Delivery location · UKL15

Notice and amendment history

1 published notice version reviewed by ProcuraAxis.

1 VERSION
  1. ocds-h6vhtk-05994a-2025-09-12T12:00:18+01:00compiled ·