Home / Opportunities / Opportunity
PROCUREMENT OPPORTUNITY

Sight Testing and Dispensing of Spectacles to Children and Young People in Special Educational Settings across the South East

Thames Valley Integrated Care Board (ICB) · award, contract

Tender information last checkedLast checked 2 Oct 2026, 07:11.

Opportunity overview

The South East Integrated Care Boards (ICBs) sought suitably qualified Providers to deliver at scale sight testing and dispensing of spectacles services for children and young people with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) in Special Educational Settings (SES) across the region. This procurement was divided into Lots: • Lot 1: Thames Valley - Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Berkshire West and Berkshire East • Lot 2: Hampshire and Isle of Wight, including North East Hampshire • Lot 3: Kent and Medway • Lot 4: Surrey, including Surrey Heath and Farnham • Lot 5: Sussex At the time of the procurement, the South East comprised six Integrated Care Boards (ICBs). From 1 April 2026, these reduced to four ICBs: • NHS Thames Valley ICB - bringing together Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Berkshire West and Berkshire East (formerly BOB ICB and part of Frimley ICB) • Hampshire and Isle of Wight ICB, which expanded to include North East Hampshire • Kent and Medway ICB, which remained unchanged • Surrey and Sussex ICB - bringing together Surrey and Sussex, including Surrey Heath and Farnham These changes were designed to improve integration, reduce health inequalities, and align services with local government boundaries to support the delivery of more sustainable care. Children and young people with autism and/or learning disabilities face significant barriers to accessing routine eye care. Evidence from the 2021 NHS England Proof of Concept (POC) programme demonstrated that delivering sight tests and dispensing services directly within Special Educational Settings (SES) was both effective and impactful. The service aims to ensure that eligible children and young people in SES across the South East are offered an annual sight test, unless clinically inappropriate. The goal is to reduce health inequalities, improve educational outcomes, and support better quality of life through timely identification and management of vision needs. Further information is available in the service specification and the engagement report published on the NHS England website: • Service specification: https://www.england.nhs.uk/publication/cyp-send-oral-and-sight-testing-service-specifications/ • Engagement report: https://www.england.nhs.uk/long-read/engagement-report-for-sight-testing-and-dispensing-of-spectacles-to-send-children-and-young-people-in-a-special-educational-setting-across-england/ The contracts will be for an initial duration of 5 years (60 months) with an optional extension of 2 years (1 x 24 months). Services are expected to commence in 2026. The maximum total budget available for the initial five year period (excluding the optional two year extension) for each Lot was as follows: • Lot 1: £2,355,000 • Lot 2: £2,180,000 • Lot 3: £3,265,000 • Lot 4: £1,625,000 • Lot 5: £1,980,000 The maximum total budget available including the optional two year extension (five years plus two years) for each Lot was as follows: • Lot 1: £3,297,000 • Lot 2: £3,052,000 • Lot 3: £4,571,000 • Lot 4: £2,275,000 • Lot 5: £2,772,000 The Commissioner will be contracting for the services using the General Ophthalmic Additional Services Model Contract - Special Educational Setting (SES). Contracts may be amended during the term to reflect co-commissioning, mandated directives, or service changes with associated funding. The Commissioners were of the view that the Transfer of Undertakings (Protection of Employment) Regulations 2006 (TUPE) did not apply. Bidders were required to undertake their own independent assessment of TUPE applicability. This notice serves as an intention to award contracts for Lots 1 to 5 under the competitive process of the Provider Selection Regime (PSR). This procurement exercise was carried out by NHS South, Central and West Commissioning Support Unit (SCW CSU) on behalf of the Commissioners.

Awarded to

Amounts belong to published awards or contracts. Where several suppliers share one value, it is labelled as shared and is not a supplier-specific allocation.

SeeAbility Ltd

Match pending…
Contract value
£3.3m
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
7 May 2026
Award ID
042717-2026-1
Status
active
Identifier
GB-COH 02780575
Location
Surrey, UKJ2, KT22 7AH, United Kingdom

SeeAbility Ltd

Match pending…
Contract value
£3.1m
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
7 May 2026
Award ID
042717-2026-2
Status
active
Identifier
GB-COH 02780575
Location
Surrey, UKJ2, KT22 7AH, United Kingdom

SeeAbility Ltd

Match pending…
Contract value
£4.6m
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
7 May 2026
Award ID
042717-2026-3
Status
active
Identifier
GB-COH 02780575
Location
Surrey, UKJ2, KT22 7AH, United Kingdom

SeeAbility Ltd

Match pending…
Contract value
£2.3m
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
7 May 2026
Award ID
042717-2026-4
Status
active
Identifier
GB-COH 02780575
Location
Surrey, UKJ2, KT22 7AH, United Kingdom

SeeAbility Ltd

Match pending…
Contract value
£2.8m
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
7 May 2026
Award ID
042717-2026-5
Status
active
Identifier
GB-COH 02780575
Location
Surrey, UKJ2, KT22 7AH, United Kingdom

Classification

  • CPV85100000 — Health services
  • CPV85160000 — Optician services

Lots

  • Thames Valley - Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Berkshire West and Berkshire EastValue not stated
  • Hampshire and Isle of Wight, including North East HampshireValue not stated
  • Kent and MedwayValue not stated
  • Surrey, including Surrey Heath and FarnhamValue not stated
  • SussexValue not stated

Published notice details

Additional information from the published procurement release. Fields appear only when supplied by the source; check the original notice and tender documents before acting.

Scope, procedure and submissions

Id
C401955
Status
complete
Main Procurement Category
services
Procurement Method
open
Procurement Method Details
Open procedure

Legal basis

Id
32014L0024
Scheme
CELEX

Classification

Scheme
CPV
Id
85100000
Description
Health services

Lots and requirements

Entry 1
Id
1
Title
Thames Valley - Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Berkshire West and Berkshire East
Description
1) NHS Thames Valley ICB - bringing together Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Berkshire West and Berkshire East (formerly BOB ICB and part of Frimley ICB) sought to appoint a Prime Provider with the capability and capacity to deliver a continuous, integrated General Ophthalmic Service (GOS) for children and young people with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) in designated Special Educational Settings (SES) across the Thames Valley region (Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Berkshire West and Berkshire East). 2) The contract will be for an initial 5 years (60 months), with the option to extend for a further 2 years (1 x 24 months). Services are expected to commence in 2026. 3) The contract value for the initial term is £2,355,000. The total contract value including the optional two year extension (five years plus two years) is £3,297,000. 4) The Services procured through this tender process are healthcare services subject to the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023, (PSR), and the process has been undertaken in full accordance with the law. For the avoidance of doubt, the provisions of the Public Contract Regulations 2015 do not apply. 5) The procurement followed the Competitive Process, in accordance with Regulation 11. 6) This notice serves as an intention to award a contract under the competitive process of the Provider Selection Regime (PSR). 7) This procurement has been carried out by NHS South, Central and West Commissioning Support Unit (SCW) on behalf of the Commissioners.
Has Options
Yes
Status
cancelled

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Name
Quality and Innovation
Type
quality
Description
52%
Criterion 2
Name
Integration, Collaboration and Service Sustainability
Type
quality
Description
19%
Criterion 3
Name
Improving Access, Reducing Health Inequalities, and Facilitating Choice
Type
quality
Description
14%
Criterion 4
Name
Social Value
Type
quality
Description
10%
Criterion 5
Name
Value
Type
cost
Description
5%

Options

Description
The contract will be for an initial 60-month period, with the option to extend for a further 24 months (1 x 24 month extension).
Entry 2
Id
2
Title
Hampshire and Isle of Wight, including North East Hampshire
Description
1) Hampshire and Isle of Wight ICB, which expanded to include North East Hampshire sought to appoint a Prime Provider with the capability and capacity to deliver a continuous, integrated General Ophthalmic Service (GOS) for children and young people with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) in designated Special Educational Settings (SES) across the Hampshire and Isle of Wight area including North East Hampshire. 2) The contract will be for an initial 5 years (60 months), with the option to extend for a further 2 years (1 x 24 months). Services are expected to commence in 2026. 3) The contract value for the initial term is £2,180,000. The total contract value including the optional two year extension (five years plus two years) is £3,052,000. 4) The Services procured through this tender process are healthcare services subject to the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023, (PSR), and the process has been undertaken in full accordance with the law. For the avoidance of doubt, the provisions of the Public Contract Regulations 2015 do not apply. 5) The procurement followed the Competitive Process, in accordance with Regulation 11. 6) This notice serves as an intention to award a contract under the competitive process of the Provider Selection Regime (PSR). 7) This procurement has been carried out by NHS South, Central and West Commissioning Support Unit (SCW) on behalf of the Commissioners.
Has Options
Yes
Status
cancelled

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Name
Quality and Innovation
Type
quality
Description
52%
Criterion 2
Name
Integration, Collaboration and Service Sustainability
Type
quality
Description
19%
Criterion 3
Name
Improving Access, Reducing Health Inequalities, and Facilitating Choice
Type
quality
Description
14%
Criterion 4
Name
Social Value
Type
quality
Description
10%
Criterion 5
Name
Value
Type
cost
Description
5%

Options

Description
The contract will be for an initial 60-month period, with the option to extend for a further 24 months (1 x 24 month extension).
Entry 3
Id
3
Title
Kent and Medway
Description
1) NHS Kent and Medway ICB sought to appoint a Prime Provider with the capability and capacity to deliver a continuous, integrated General Ophthalmic Service (GOS) for children and young people with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) in designated Special Educational Settings (SES) across the Kent and Medway area. 2) The contract will be for an initial 5 years (60 months), with the option to extend for a further 2 years (1 x 24 months). Services are expected to commence in 2026. 3) The contract value for the initial term is £3,265,000. The total contract value including the optional two year extension (five years plus two years) is £4,571,000. 4) The Services procured through this tender process are healthcare services subject to the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023, (PSR), and the process has been undertaken in full accordance with the law. For the avoidance of doubt, the provisions of the Public Contract Regulations 2015 do not apply. 5) The procurement followed the Competitive Process, in accordance with Regulation 11. 6) This notice serves as an intention to award a contract under the competitive process of the Provider Selection Regime (PSR). 7) This procurement has been carried out by NHS South, Central and West Commissioning Support Unit (SCW) on behalf of the Commissioners.
Has Options
Yes
Status
cancelled

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Name
Quality and Innovation
Type
quality
Description
52%
Criterion 2
Name
Integration, Collaboration and Service Sustainability
Type
quality
Description
19%
Criterion 3
Name
Improving Access, Reducing Health Inequalities, and Facilitating Choice
Type
quality
Description
14%
Criterion 4
Name
Social Value
Type
quality
Description
10%
Criterion 5
Name
Value
Type
cost
Description
5%

Options

Description
The contract will be for an initial 60-month period, with the option to extend for a further 24 months (1 x 24 month extension).
Entry 4
Id
4
Title
Surrey, including Surrey Heath and Farnham
Description
1) Surrey and Sussex ICB - bringing together Surrey and Sussex, including Surrey Heath and Farnham sought to appoint a Prime Provider with the capability and capacity to deliver a continuous, integrated General Ophthalmic Service (GOS) for children and young people with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) in designated Special Educational Settings (SES) across Surrey, including the Surrey Heath and Farnham areas. 2) The contract will be for an initial 5 years (60 months), with the option to extend for a further 2 years (1 x 24 months). Services are expected to commence in 2026. 3) The contract value for the initial term is £1,625,000. The total contract value including the optional two year extension (five years plus two years) is £2,275,000. 4) The Services procured through this tender process are healthcare services subject to the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023, (PSR), and the process has been undertaken in full accordance with the law. For the avoidance of doubt, the provisions of the Public Contract Regulations 2015 do not apply. 5) The procurement followed the Competitive Process, in accordance with Regulation 11. 6) This notice serves as an intention to award a contract under the competitive process of the Provider Selection Regime (PSR). 7) This procurement has been carried out by NHS South, Central and West Commissioning Support Unit (SCW) on behalf of the Commissioners
Has Options
Yes
Status
cancelled

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Name
Quality and Innovation
Type
quality
Description
52%
Criterion 2
Name
Integration, Collaboration and Service Sustainability
Type
quality
Description
19%
Criterion 3
Name
Improving Access, Reducing Health Inequalities, and Facilitating Choice
Type
quality
Description
14%
Criterion 4
Name
Social Value
Type
quality
Description
10%
Criterion 5
Name
Value
Type
cost
Description
5%

Options

Description
The contract will be for an initial 60-month period, with the option to extend for a further 24 months (1 x 24 month extension).
Entry 5
Id
5
Title
Sussex
Description
1) Surrey and Sussex ICB - bringing together Surrey and Sussex, including Surrey Heath and Farnham sought to appoint a Prime Provider with the capability and capacity to deliver a continuous, integrated General Ophthalmic Service (GOS) for children and young people with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND) in designated Special Educational Settings (SES) across the Sussex area. 2) The contract will be for an initial 5 years (60 months), with the option to extend for a further 2 years (1 x 24 months). Services are expected to commence in 2026. 3) The contract value for the initial term is £1,980,000. The total contract value including the optional two year extension (five years plus two years) is £2,772,000. 4) The Services procured through this tender process are healthcare services subject to the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023, (PSR), and the process has been undertaken in full accordance with the law. For the avoidance of doubt, the provisions of the Public Contract Regulations 2015 do not apply. 5) The procurement followed the Competitive Process, in accordance with Regulation 11. 6) This notice serves as an intention to award a contract under the competitive process of the Provider Selection Regime (PSR). 7) This procurement has been carried out by NHS South, Central and West Commissioning Support Unit (SCW) on behalf of the Commissioners
Has Options
Yes
Status
cancelled

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Name
Quality and Innovation
Type
quality
Description
52%
Criterion 2
Name
Integration, Collaboration and Service Sustainability
Type
quality
Description
19%
Criterion 3
Name
Improving Access, Reducing Health Inequalities, and Facilitating Choice
Type
quality
Description
14%
Criterion 4
Name
Social Value
Type
quality
Description
10%
Criterion 5
Name
Value
Type
cost
Description
5%

Options

Description
The contract will be for an initial 60-month period, with the option to extend for a further 24 months (1 x 24 month extension).

Items and delivery

Item 1
Id
1
Related Lot
1

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
85160000
Description
Optician services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKJ1
Item 2
Id
2
Related Lot
2

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
85160000
Description
Optician services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKJ3
Item 3
Id
3
Related Lot
3

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
85160000
Description
Optician services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKJ4
Item 4
Id
4
Related Lot
4

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
85160000
Description
Optician services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKJ2
Item 5
Id
5
Related Lot
5

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
85160000
Description
Optician services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKJ2

Buyer, suppliers and contacts

Organisation 1
Name
Thames Valley Integrated Care Board (ICB)
Id
GB-FTS-181593

Identifier

Legal Name
Thames Valley Integrated Care Board (ICB)
No Identifier Rationale
notOnAnyRegister

Address

Locality
Cowley
Region
UKJ1
Postal Code
OX4 2PG
Country Name
United Kingdom

Contact

Roles

buyer

Details

Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
TED_CA_TYPE
Id
BODY_PUBLIC
Description
Body governed by public law
Entry 2
Scheme
COFOG
Id
07
Description
Health
Organisation 2
Name
NHS Hampshire and Isle of Wight Integrated Care Board (ICB)
Id
GB-FTS-160041

Identifier

Legal Name
NHS Hampshire and Isle of Wight Integrated Care Board (ICB)
No Identifier Rationale
notOnAnyRegister

Address

Locality
Eastleigh
Region
UKJ3
Postal Code
SO50 5PB
Country Name
United Kingdom

Contact

Roles

buyer

Details

Organisation 3
Name
NHS Kent and Medway Integrated Care Board (ICB)
Id
GB-FTS-160042

Identifier

Legal Name
NHS Kent and Medway Integrated Care Board (ICB)
No Identifier Rationale
notOnAnyRegister

Address

Locality
Maidstone
Region
UKJ4
Postal Code
ME15 6NB
Country Name
United Kingdom

Contact

Roles

buyer

Details

Organisation 4
Name
Surrey and Sussex Integrated Care Board (ICB)
Id
GB-FTS-181594

Identifier

Legal Name
Surrey and Sussex Integrated Care Board (ICB)
No Identifier Rationale
notOnAnyRegister

Address

Locality
Woking
Region
UKJ2
Postal Code
GU21 5BH
Country Name
United Kingdom

Contact

Roles

buyer

Details

Organisation 5
Name
SeeAbility Ltd
Id
GB-COH-02780575

Identifier

Legal Name
SeeAbility Ltd
Id
02780575
Scheme
GB-COH

Address

Street Address
Wesley House, Bull Hill, Leatherhead
Locality
Surrey
Region
UKJ2
Postal Code
KT22 7AH
Country Name
United Kingdom

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
sme
Organisation 6
Name
SeeAbility Ltd
Id
GB-COH-02780575

Identifier

Legal Name
SeeAbility Ltd
Id
02780575
Scheme
GB-COH

Address

Street Address
Wesley House, Bull Hill, Leatherhead,
Locality
Surrey
Region
UKJ2
Postal Code
KT22 7AH
Country Name
United Kingdom

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
sme
Organisation 7
Name
South East Commissioning Hub (hosted by NHS Thames Valley ICB)
Id
GB-FTS-181595

Identifier

Legal Name
South East Commissioning Hub (hosted by NHS Thames Valley ICB)

Address

Locality
Cowley
Country Name
United Kingdom

Roles

reviewBody

Award information

Award 1
Id
042717-2026-1
Title
Thames Valley - Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Berkshire West and Berkshire East
Status
active

Related lots

1

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-COH-02780575
Name
SeeAbility Ltd
Award 2
Id
042717-2026-2
Title
Hampshire and Isle of Wight, including North East Hampshire
Status
active

Related lots

2

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-COH-02780575
Name
SeeAbility Ltd
Award 3
Id
042717-2026-3
Title
Kent and Medway
Status
active

Related lots

3

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-COH-02780575
Name
SeeAbility Ltd
Award 4
Id
042717-2026-4
Title
Surrey, including Surrey Heath and Farnham
Status
active

Related lots

4

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-COH-02780575
Name
SeeAbility Ltd
Award 5
Id
042717-2026-5
Title
Sussex
Status
active

Related lots

5

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-COH-02780575
Name
SeeAbility Ltd

Contracts and changes

Entry 1
Id
042717-2026-1
Award ID
042717-2026-1
Title
Thames Valley - Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Berkshire West and Berkshire East
Status
active
Date Signed
8 May 2026, 00:00

Value

Amount
3,297,000
Currency
GBP
Entry 2
Id
042717-2026-2
Award ID
042717-2026-2
Title
Hampshire and Isle of Wight, including North East Hampshire
Status
active
Date Signed
8 May 2026, 00:00

Value

Amount
3,052,000
Currency
GBP
Entry 3
Id
042717-2026-3
Award ID
042717-2026-3
Title
Kent and Medway
Status
active
Date Signed
8 May 2026, 00:00

Value

Amount
4,571,000
Currency
GBP
Entry 4
Id
042717-2026-4
Award ID
042717-2026-4
Title
Surrey, including Surrey Heath and Farnham
Status
active
Date Signed
8 May 2026, 00:00

Value

Amount
2,275,000
Currency
GBP
Entry 5
Id
042717-2026-5
Award ID
042717-2026-5
Title
Sussex
Status
active
Date Signed
8 May 2026, 00:00

Value

Amount
2,772,000
Currency
GBP

Recorded locations

  • Buyer location · Cowley · UKJ1 · OX4 2PG · United Kingdom
  • Delivery location · UKJ1
  • Delivery location · UKJ2
  • Delivery location · UKJ3
  • Delivery location · UKJ4

Notice and amendment history

2 published notice versions reviewed by ProcuraAxis.

2 VERSIONS
  1. 000273-2026tender ·
  2. 042717-2026award, contract ·