Home / Opportunities / Opportunity
PROCUREMENT OPPORTUNITY

Residential and Nursing Care Home Services (Issue 1)

Staffordshire County Council · Contract details notice on Find a Tender

Tender information last checkedLast checked 25 Sept 2026, 08:15.

Opportunity overview

The procurement will be to establish a framework of providers for the delivery of residential and nursing care home services for adults aged 65 and over who have been assessed by the Council as having needs for care and support under the Care Act 2014 and Mental Health Act 1983. The Framework is primarily aimed at individuals whose ordinary residence is within Staffordshire (which excludes Stoke on Trent). However, all Placement's will be made based on individual assessed needs, aligned to appropriate legislation, and will be within a reasonable distance, usually up to twenty (20) miles from the Resident's usual place of residence, as detailed in the Council's Choice Policy, unless the Resident chooses a care home outside the 20-mile radius. Where there are no Placements within a reasonable distance that can meet the Resident's assessed needs, the Council will consider locations outside of the reasonable distance. Schedule 1 (the Specification) of the Framework Agreement sets out the minimum requirements a Service Provider must follow when delivering Services to Residents whose needs fall under the designated Lots of: • Lot 1 - Residential for Older People • Lot 2 - Residential for Older People with Dementia • Lot 6 - Nursing for Older People • Lot 7 - Nursing for Older People with Dementia The Service Provider must be registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) to deliver residential and/or nursing care for Residents aged 65 and over. The Service Provider must also hold registrations for other care category specialisms to meet both primary and secondary needs of Residents, making this clear in their statement of purpose. If a Resident has multiple care needs, their primary need decides the Lot they are placed under. Needs may change over time, so the Council expects the Service Provider to be flexible either by meeting changing needs or ensuring a smooth transfer to another service provider if needed. The Service Provider must accept referrals for all types of Care Home stays which include: • Long Stay: A placement within a residential or nursing care Home where the intention is that the Placement shall be the Resident's permanent residence. • Temporary Stay: An individual who needs to stay in a residential or nursing care home for (i) a limited period where there is a plan to return to their own home (ii) a period of further assessment. The stay should be unlikely to exceed fifty-two (52) weeks. • Respite Stay: A short stay in a residential or nursing Care Home for someone normally cared for at their own home, giving their carer a temporary break usually up to eight (8) weeks. Respite stays can be both planned and unplanned. An unplanned respite stay is where respite care is required within twenty-four (24) hours to support carer crisis. Care home provision for 18 - 65 year olds will be the subject of a separate procurement exercise. The Choice Policy requires the Council to source a care home placement that meets the assessed eligible needs within a reasonable distance of the person's usual place of residence, and the Indicative Personal Budget will be determined by the most cost-effective placement that can meet those needs. When developing the tender documents the Council has taken regards to the key objectives set out in the Procurement Act 2023: a. delivering value for money; b. maximising public benefit; c. sharing information; d. integrity; and e. removing or reducing the barriers faced by SMEs.

Awarded to

Amounts belong to published awards or contracts. Where several suppliers share one value, it is labelled as shared and is not a supplier-specific allocation.

Contract value
£253.3m
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
20 Aug 2026
Including VAT
£303.9m
Award ID
1
Status
active
Identifier
GB-COH 08071060
Location
Birmingham, UKG31, B38 8TW, United Kingdom
Contract value
£633.4m
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
20 Aug 2026
Including VAT
£760.1m
Award ID
2
Status
active
Identifier
GB-COH 08071060
Location
Birmingham, UKG31, B38 8TW, United Kingdom

Classification

No classification was supplied.

Lots

  • Lot 1Value not stated
  • Lot 2Value not stated

Documents and notices

Published notice details

Additional information from the published procurement release. Fields appear only when supplied by the source; check the original notice and tender documents before acting.

Scope, procedure and submissions

Id
IA3668
Status
complete
Procurement Method
open
Procurement Method Details
Open procedure

Legal basis

Id
2023/54
Scheme
UKPGA

Special regime

lightTouch

Covered By

GPA

Techniques

Has Framework Agreement
Yes

Framework Agreement

Is Open Framework Scheme
Yes
Method
withAndWithoutReopeningCompetition
Type
closed
Description
Light Touch Framework Opening, Closing and Re-Opening This procurement is for a Framework Agreement between the appointed Supplier(s) and the Authority, to deliver Services as and when required. The Authority makes no guarantee as to the volume of business on offer and any figures / quantities / volumes given are indicative and are guidance only. The Authority may at its discretion source similar or equivalent care and support services other than via the Framework Agreement. The Authority has pre-existing and may procure new alternative methods to source and contract for care and support services. The Parties acknowledge that the Authority is not obligated or otherwise restricted to use the Framework to source care and support services for individuals. The Authority will publish a UK4 Tender Notice through the FTS when the Framework is to be opened or re-opened. The Tender Notice will have a hyperlink through to the Authorities electronic procurement system, which will contain all instructions and documents for applying to join/re-join the Framework. The initial Framework will remain open for a period of 30 days, at which point it will be closed to new entrants. Any supplier not providing an application by this closing date will not be included in the initial Framework evaluation and will have to wait until the Framework is re-opened to provide an application for consideration. For avoidance of doubt a supplier cannot apply to join the Framework when it is closed only when it is open for new applications. Any notice published through FTS will always have a closing date on it. Please ensure you have read Schedule 5 Operation of Framework and Mini-competition process. Joining the Framework Suppliers (including unsuccessful Suppliers) will need to complete the Invitation to Tender (ITT) Procurement Specific Questionnaire (PSQ) document and upload this, along with any other requested information to the electronic procurement system by the closing date and time. Where a suppliers submission has been evaluated successfully the supplier will receive an assessment summary letter via the electronic procurement system to say they have been awarded onto the Framework. Where a Supplier's submission requires clarification(s) the Authority will engage in a dialogue with the Supplier to try and resolve. Where these are resolved then the submission will be deemed acceptable and the Supplier will be awarded onto the Framework. Where these cannot be resolved, then the submission will be deemed as unsuccessful, and the Supplier will be issued with an assessment summary letter via the electronic procurement system to notify the Supplier of the reason(s) why their submission has been unsuccessful. Any unsuccessful Suppliers are able to re-apply to join the Framework once it has been re-opened and having rectified any identified areas of omission. The Authority will publish a UK6 Contract Award Notice on FTS every time the Framework is concluded. This Notice will contain a hyperlink to Contract award notices | Staffordshire County Council and will contain details of all suppliers who have been awarded onto the Framework Agreement. Within 120 days of the Contract being entered into the Authority will publish a UK7 Contract Details Notice on FTS. This Notice will contain a hyperlink to Contract award notices | Staffordshire County Council, and will contain details of all suppliers who have been awarded onto the Framework Agreement. Please ensure you have read Schedule 5 Operation of Framework and Mini-competition process. Post Framework Contract Award Once the Framework Agreement has been signed by all parties, the supplier will remain on the Framework until (i) the framework expires (ii) they undertake any action which would cause them to be removed from the framework (iii) they voluntarily ask to be removed from the framework. The Authority will then issue a UK11 Contract Termination Notice via FTS. Please ensure you have read Schedule 5 Operation of Framework and Mini-competition process. Operation of the Framework and Mini Competition By entering into the Framework Agreement no form of exclusivity or volume guarantee will be granted by the Authority for any Services to be awarded to or delivered by a supplier. The Authority will continue to contract and place Individuals as appropriate through its Block Booked Bed Arrangements and/or through Services delivered through our Local Authority Trading Company: Nexxus Trading Services Ltd who operate the Meadowrythe and Bracken House Care Homes. If the Authority needs to source a placement, then the Authority will issue an Invitation to Tender (ITT) using either the Standard Award Procedure (Option A), the Emergency Award Procedure (Option B) or the Award without Competition Procedure (Option C) as follows; • Standard Award Procedure (Option A) is used where care needs to be sourced within seven days. • Emergency Award Procedure (Option B) is used where a Resident requires an urgent placement to a Care Home and/or to be placed in a more time critical way than the afforded by following the Standard Award Procedure (Option A). • Award without Competition (Option C) is used where a Resident requires an urgent placement to the Care Home and/or to be placed in a more time critical way than afforded by following either the Standard Award Procedure (Option A) or the Emergency Award Procedure (Option B); or a Resident (or their family or chosen representative) wishes to exercise choice over their preferred Care Home and their chosen Care Home is held under the Framework Agreement. Only one supplier will be awarded per Mini Competition. If the supplier is unable to meet the Individual's needs, then the Authority will follow the guidance within Schedule 5 Operation of the Framework and Mini-Competition Process. Please ensure you have read Schedule 5 Operation of Framework and Mini-competition process.
Open Framework Scheme End Date
31 Aug 2034, 23:59

Lots and requirements

Entry 1
Id
1
Status
complete
Entry 2
Id
2
Status
complete

Published documents

Entry 1
Id
conflictOfInterest
Document Type
conflictOfInterest
Description
Not published

Buyer, suppliers and contacts

Organisation 1
Name
Staffordshire County Council
Id
GB-PPON-PZDG-2995-QQMD

Identifier

Scheme
GB-PPON
Id
PZDG-2995-QQMD

Address

Street Address
1 Staffordshire Place, Tipping Street,
Locality
Stafford
Postal Code
ST16 2DH
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom
Region
UKG24

Contact

Roles

buyer

Details

Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
UK_CA_TYPE
Id
publicAuthoritySubCentralGovernment
Description
Public authority - sub-central government
Organisation 2
Name
ALISON HOUSE CARE HOME LIMITED
Id
GB-COH-08071060

Identifier

Scheme
GB-COH
Id
08071060

Additional Identifiers

Entry 1
Scheme
GB-PPON
Id
PCHL-6479-ZRLW

Address

Street Address
24 St. Nicholas Gardens
Locality
Birmingham
Postal Code
B38 8TW
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom
Region
UKG31

Contact

Roles

supplier

Details

Scale
large
Vcse
No
Public Service Mission Organization
No
Sheltered Workshop
No

Award information

Award 1
Id
1
Status
active
Main Procurement Category
services

Items

Item 1
Id
1
Related Lot
1

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
85000000
Description
Health and social work services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKG24
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-COH-08071060
Name
ALISON HOUSE CARE HOME LIMITED

Related lots

1
Award 2
Id
2
Status
active
Main Procurement Category
services

Items

Item 1
Id
2
Related Lot
2

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
CPV
Id
85000000
Description
Health and social work services

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UKG24
Country
GB
Country Name
United Kingdom

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-COH-08071060
Name
ALISON HOUSE CARE HOME LIMITED

Related lots

2

Contracts and changes

Entry 1
Id
1
Award ID
1
Title
Lot 1
Status
active
Has Renewal
Yes
Has Options
Yes
Above Threshold
Yes
Date Signed
21 Aug 2026, 00:00

Period

Starts
1 Sept 2026, 00:00
Ends
31 Aug 2030, 23:59
Max Extent Date
31 Aug 2034, 23:59

Renewal

Description
The Framework Agreement will commence on 1 September 2026 and, subject to earlier termination in accordance with its terms, will continue until midnight on 31 August 2030. At the Authority's entire discretion, the term may be extended up to a maximum of 48 months, until 31 August 2034 on the same terms for such period(s) in accordance with the contract.

Options

Description
The Framework Agreement will commence on 1 September 2026 and, subject to earlier termination in accordance with its terms, will continue until midnight on 31 August 2030. At the Authority's entire discretion, the term may be extended up to a maximum of 48 months, until 31 August 2034 on the same terms for such period(s) in accordance with the contract.

Value

Including VAT
303,904,766.4
Amount
253,253,972
Currency
GBP

Documents

Entry 1
Id
A-21725
Document Type
contractSigned
Format
application/pdf
Entry 2
Id
082531-2026
Document Type
contractNotice
Notice Type
UK7
Description
Contract details notice on Find a Tender
Published
1 Sept 2026, 11:03
Format
text/html
Entry 2
Id
2
Award ID
2
Title
Lot 2
Status
active
Has Renewal
Yes
Has Options
Yes
Above Threshold
Yes
Date Signed
21 Aug 2026, 00:00

Period

Starts
1 Sept 2026, 00:00
Ends
31 Aug 2030, 23:59
Max Extent Date
31 Aug 2034, 23:59

Renewal

Description
The Framework Agreement will commence on 1 September 2026 and, subject to earlier termination in accordance with its terms, will continue until midnight on 31 August 2030. At the Authority's entire discretion, the term may be extended up to a maximum of 48 months, until 31 August 2034 on the same terms for such period(s) in accordance with the contract.

Options

Description
The Framework Agreement will commence on 1 September 2026 and, subject to earlier termination in accordance with its terms, will continue until midnight on 31 August 2030. At the Authority's entire discretion, the term may be extended up to a maximum of 48 months, until 31 August 2034 on the same terms for such period(s) in accordance with the contract.

Value

Including VAT
760,062,660
Amount
633,385,550
Currency
GBP

Documents

Entry 1
Id
A-21726
Document Type
contractSigned
Format
application/pdf
Entry 2
Id
082531-2026
Document Type
contractNotice
Notice Type
UK7
Description
Contract details notice on Find a Tender
Published
1 Sept 2026, 11:03
Format
text/html

Recorded locations

  • Buyer location · Stafford · UKG24 · ST16 2DH · United Kingdom

Notice and amendment history

3 published notice versions reviewed by ProcuraAxis.

3 VERSIONS
  1. 023838-2026Tender notice on Find a Tender ·
  2. 062513-2026Contract award notice on Find a Tender ·
  3. 082531-2026Contract details notice on Find a Tender ·