Home / Opportunities / Opportunity
PROCUREMENT OPPORTUNITY

Pension Scheme (Defined Contribution) and Employee Benefits

North Western Universities Purchasing Consortium · compiled

Tender information last checkedLast checked 29 Sept 2026, 20:04.

Opportunity overview

NWUPC in conjunction with UCEA has a requirement to establish a Framework Agreement for the provision of a Defined Contribution Master Trust Pension Scheme and Employee Benefits including Group Life Assurance, Group Income Protection and the provision of a customisable benefits platform for the management of employee benefits through a single centralised portal. NWUPC is establishing the Framework Agreement as a central purchasing body for itself and its Members (Other Contracting Bodies (OCB)). NWUPC is managing this procurement process in accordance with the Public Contracts Regulations 2015 (the “Regulations”) on behalf of members of APUC, HEPCW, LUPC, NEUPC, NWUPC and SUPC. The Framework Agreement will be split into three lots as follows: Lot 1 – Defined Contribution Pension Scheme (Master Trust) Lot 2 – Group Life Assurance & Group Income Protection Lot 3 – Flexible Benefits Platform

Awarded to

Amounts belong to published awards or contracts. Where several suppliers share one value, it is labelled as shared and is not a supplier-specific allocation.

Aviva Life & Pensions UK Limited

4 award entriesMatch pending…
Contract value
£19m
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
28 May 2025
Status
active
Location
York, UK, United Kingdom
View 4 award IDs

034139-2025-1-1, 034139-2025-2-2, 052312-2025-1-1, 052312-2025-2-2

Personal Group Holdings Plc

Matched by exact name
Contract value
£19m
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
14 Aug 2025
Award ID
052312-2025-3-3
Status
active
Location
Milton Keynes, UK, United Kingdom

Classification

  • CPV66520000 — Pension services
  • CPV48000000 — Software package and information systems
  • CPV66131100 — Pension investment services
  • CPV66141000 — Pension fund management services
  • CPV66510000 — Insurance services
  • CPV66511000 — Life insurance services
  • CPV66512000 — Accident and health insurance services
  • CPV66522000 — Group pension services
  • CPV66523100 — Pension fund administration services
  • CPV75310000 — Benefit services
  • CPV79900000 — Miscellaneous business and business-related services

Lots

  • Lot 1- Pension Scheme (Defined Contribution) Master TrustValue not stated
  • Lot 2- Group Life Assurance & Group Income ProtectionValue not stated
  • Lot 3- Flexible Benefits PlatformValue not stated

Published notice details

Additional information from the published procurement release. Fields appear only when supplied by the source; check the original notice and tender documents before acting.

Scope, procedure and submissions

Id
PFB3038NW
Status
complete
Has Recurrence
No
Procurement Method
open
Main Procurement Category
services
Procurement Method Details
Open procedure

Covered By

GPA

Bid Opening

Date
17 Mar 2025, 14:00

Legal basis

Id
32014L0024
Scheme
CELEX

Lot Details

Maximum Lots Bid Per Supplier
9,999,999

Techniques

Has Framework Agreement
Yes

Framework Agreement

Period Rationale
See section VI Additional Information
Maximum Participants
3

Expected award period

Starts
17 Mar 2025, 14:00

Tender Period

Ends
17 Mar 2025, 13:00

Communication

Future Notice Date
2 Dec 2024, 00:00

Contract terms

Has Electronic Payment
Yes
Has Electronic Ordering
Yes
Electronic Invoicing Policy
allowed

Classification

Id
66520000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Pension services

Submission terms

Languages

en

Submission Method

electronicSubmission
written

Lots and requirements

Entry 1
Id
1
Title
Lot 1- Pension Scheme (Defined Contribution) Master Trust
Status
cancelled
Has Options
No
Has Renewal
Yes
Description
NWUPC is seeking to set up a section in a pre-existing authorised master trust as a tailored solution for Member Institutions of the participating consortia that can be used to meet (or exceed) automatic enrolment requirements as a minimum, to be available for H2 2025 eligibility. The scheme will be available to Member Institutions to enrol staff as defined by each Employer into the DC arrangement. This may include staff employed by the Member Institution or through a wholly owned subsidiary across both academic and academic-related posts and/or professional services. This may include new employees only or existing employees. The new DC arrangement could also be made available to staff in existing Defined Benefit schemes should they choose to opt-out of the existing scheme subject to the rules and regulations of the DB scheme.

Renewal

Description
This Framework Agreement will commence on 1st May 2025 for an initial period of five years until 30th April 2030 with the option to extend the Agreement for two years until 30th April 2032 subject to satisfactory Economic Operator performance.

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Name
Customer Requirements
Type
quality
Description
85.00%
Criterion 2
Type
price
Description
15.00%

Contract period

Ends
30 Apr 2032, 23:59
Starts
1 May 2025, 00:00

Submission terms

Variant Policy
notAllowed
Entry 2
Id
2
Title
Lot 2- Group Life Assurance & Group Income Protection
Status
cancelled
Has Options
No
Has Renewal
Yes
Description
The provision of Group Life Assurance and Group Income Protection to staff of participating consortia Member Institutions as an employee benefit. It will be at the discretion of the Member Institution which of the available policies they elect to take-up. This lot does not include a requirement for any insurance broking services.

Renewal

Description
This Framework Agreement will commence on 1st May 2025 for an initial period of five years until 30th April 2030 with the option to extend the Agreement for two years until 30th April 2032 subject to satisfactory Economic Operator performance.

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Name
Customer Requirements
Type
quality
Description
75.00%
Criterion 2
Type
price
Description
25.00%

Contract period

Ends
30 Apr 2032, 23:59
Starts
1 May 2025, 00:00

Submission terms

Variant Policy
notAllowed
Entry 3
Id
3
Title
Lot 3- Flexible Benefits Platform
Status
cancelled
Has Options
No
Has Renewal
Yes
Description
The provision of a largely off the shelf flexible benefits platform for the management of employee benefits through a single centralised online platform that is customisable to the requirements of the participating consortia member institutions. The platform will offer a range of benefits that shall be available to employees who meet any relevant qualifying criteria established by the member institution. This will cover employees across the UK and may include employees overseas. The platform must be configurable and facilitate the incorporation of existing employee benefits and offer access to benefits from reputable providers. This lot covers the provision of all software and any associated licensing. Potential Services include, but are not limited to system implementation and migration, and professional services around the range of benefits the member institution may seek to make available to employees.

Renewal

Description
This Framework Agreement will commence on 1st May 2025 for an initial period of five years until 30th April 2030 with the option to extend the Agreement for two years until 30th April 2032 subject to satisfactory Economic Operator performance.

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Name
Customer Requirements
Type
quality
Description
70.00%
Criterion 2
Type
price
Description
30.00%

Contract period

Ends
30 Apr 2032, 23:59
Starts
1 May 2025, 00:00

Submission terms

Variant Policy
notAllowed

Items and delivery

Item 1
Id
1
Related Lot
1

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UK
Entry 2
Region
UK
Entry 3
Region
UK
Entry 4
Region
UK

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Id
66131100
Scheme
CPV
Description
Pension investment services
Entry 2
Id
66141000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Pension fund management services
Entry 3
Id
66522000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Group pension services
Entry 4
Id
66523100
Scheme
CPV
Description
Pension fund administration services
Item 2
Id
2
Related Lot
2

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UK
Entry 2
Region
UK
Entry 3
Region
UK
Entry 4
Region
UK

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Id
66510000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Insurance services
Entry 2
Id
66511000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Life insurance services
Entry 3
Id
66512000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Accident and health insurance services
Item 3
Id
3
Related Lot
3

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UK
Entry 2
Region
UK
Entry 3
Region
UK
Entry 4
Region
UK

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Id
48000000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Software package and information systems
Entry 2
Id
75310000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Benefit services
Entry 3
Id
79900000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Miscellaneous business and business-related services

Published documents

Entry 1
Id
economic1
Document Type
economicSelectionCriteria
Entry 2
Id
technical1
Document Type
technicalSelectionCriteria

Buyer, suppliers and contacts

Organisation 1
Id
GB-FTS-35697
Name
North Western Universities Purchasing Consortium

Roles

buyer
centralPurchasingBody

Address

Region
UK
Locality
Salford
Postal Code
M5 4WT
Country Name
United Kingdom
Street Address
Room 404, 4th Floor, Crescent House, University of Salford

Details

Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
TED_CA_TYPE
Description
Sub-central contracting authority
Entry 2
Id
09
Scheme
COFOG
Description
Education

Identifier

Id
04045190
Legal Name
North Western Universities Purchasing Consortium

Contact

Name
Sarah Dye
Telephone
+44 1612348016
Organisation 2
Id
GB-FTS-131902
Name
North Western Universities Purchasing Consortium

Roles

buyer
centralPurchasingBody

Address

Region
UK
Locality
Salford
Postal Code
M6 6FP
Country Name
United Kingdom
Street Address
Salford Innovation Forum, Room 210, 51 Frederick Road

Details

Classifications

Entry 1
Scheme
TED_CA_TYPE
Description
Sub-central contracting authority
Entry 2
Id
09
Scheme
COFOG
Description
Education

Identifier

Id
04045190
Legal Name
North Western Universities Purchasing Consortium

Contact

Name
Sarah Dye
Telephone
+44 1612348016
Organisation 3
Id
GB-FTS-137963
Name
NWUPC Ltd

Roles

reviewBody

Address

Locality
Salford
Postal Code
M6 6FP
Country Name
United Kingdom

Identifier

Legal Name
NWUPC Ltd
Organisation 4
Id
GB-FTS-152085
Name
Aviva Life & Pensions UK Limited

Roles

supplier

Address

Region
UK
Locality
York
Country Name
United Kingdom

Details

Scale
large

Identifier

Legal Name
Aviva Life & Pensions UK Limited
Organisation 5
Id
GB-FTS-159215
Name
Personal Group Holdings Plc

Roles

supplier

Address

Region
UK
Locality
Milton Keynes
Country Name
United Kingdom

Details

Scale
large

Identifier

Legal Name
Personal Group Holdings Plc

Award information

Award 1
Id
034139-2025-1-1
Title
Lot 1- Pension Scheme (Defined Contribution) Master Trust
Status
active

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-FTS-152085
Name
Aviva Life & Pensions UK Limited
Award 2
Id
034139-2025-2-2
Title
Lot 2- Group Life Assurance & Group Income Protection
Status
active

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-FTS-152085
Name
Aviva Life & Pensions UK Limited
Award 3
Id
052312-2025-1-1
Title
Lot 1- Pension Scheme (Defined Contribution) Master Trust
Status
active

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-FTS-152085
Name
Aviva Life & Pensions UK Limited
Award 4
Id
052312-2025-2-2
Title
Lot 2- Group Life Assurance & Group Income Protection
Status
active

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-FTS-152085
Name
Aviva Life & Pensions UK Limited
Award 5
Id
052312-2025-3-3
Title
Lot 3- Flexible Benefits Platform
Status
active

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-FTS-159215
Name
Personal Group Holdings Plc

Contracts and changes

Entry 1
Id
034139-2025-1-1
Title
Lot 1- Pension Scheme (Defined Contribution) Master Trust
Status
active
Award ID
034139-2025-1-1
Date Signed
29 May 2025, 00:00

Value

Amount
19,000,000
Currency
GBP
Entry 2
Id
034139-2025-2-2
Title
Lot 2- Group Life Assurance & Group Income Protection
Status
active
Award ID
034139-2025-2-2
Date Signed
29 May 2025, 00:00

Value

Amount
19,000,000
Currency
GBP
Entry 3
Id
052312-2025-1-1
Title
Lot 1- Pension Scheme (Defined Contribution) Master Trust
Status
active
Award ID
052312-2025-1-1
Date Signed
29 May 2025, 00:00

Value

Amount
19,000,000
Currency
GBP
Entry 4
Id
052312-2025-2-2
Title
Lot 2- Group Life Assurance & Group Income Protection
Status
active
Award ID
052312-2025-2-2
Date Signed
29 May 2025, 00:00

Value

Amount
19,000,000
Currency
GBP
Entry 5
Id
052312-2025-3-3
Title
Lot 3- Flexible Benefits Platform
Status
active
Award ID
052312-2025-3-3
Date Signed
15 Aug 2025, 00:00

Value

Amount
19,000,000
Currency
GBP

Recorded locations

  • Buyer location · Salford · UK · M6 6FP · United Kingdom
  • Delivery location · UK

Notice and amendment history

1 published notice version reviewed by ProcuraAxis.

1 VERSION
  1. ocds-h6vhtk-04b383-2025-08-29T10:32:09+01:00compiled ·