Home / Opportunities / Opportunity
PROCUREMENT OPPORTUNITY

Structural Heart & VAD’s 2025

NHS Supply Chain · compiled

Tender information last checkedLast checked 29 Sept 2026, 19:05.

Opportunity overview

NHSSC seeks to establish a non-exclusive Framework Agreement (FAG) via the E-Direct and Direct Route for supply of Structural Heart Devices and Consumables. Products include Heart Valves, Annuloplasty rings and bands, and Ventricular Assisted Devices. Sutureless Valves are one of the high cost tariff excluded devices under the NHS England HCTED programme. NHS Supply Chain is the mandated route for the HCTED programme, and trusts who are commissioned to provide this service are directed to purchase all their requirements through NHS Supply Chain. Precise quantities are unknown. It is anticipated that initial expenditure will be in the region of £30,000,000 in the first year of this Framework Agreement, however this is approximate only and the values may vary depending on the requirements of those bodies purchasing under the Framework Agreement.

Awarded to

Amounts belong to published awards or contracts. Where several suppliers share one value, it is labelled as shared and is not a supplier-specific allocation.

AQUILANT LIMITED

Matched by exact name
Shared published award value
Value not stated
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
22 Nov 2024
Suppliers
One of 9 awarded suppliers
Award ID
005111-2025-PROJECT_1046-1
Status
active
Location
Basingstoke, UKJ37, United Kingdom

ARTIVION UK LTD

Match pending…
Shared published award value
Value not stated
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
22 Nov 2024
Suppliers
One of 9 awarded suppliers
Award ID
005111-2025-PROJECT_1046-1
Status
active
Location
Surrey, UKI31, United Kingdom

Abbott Medical U.K. Ltd

Matched by exact name
Shared published award value
Value not stated
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
22 Nov 2024
Suppliers
One of 9 awarded suppliers
Award ID
005111-2025-PROJECT_1046-1
Status
active
Location
Solihull, UKG32, United Kingdom

BECTON, DICKINSON U.K. LIMITED

Matched by exact name
Shared published award value
Value not stated
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
22 Nov 2024
Suppliers
One of 9 awarded suppliers
Award ID
005111-2025-PROJECT_1046-1
Status
active
Location
Wokingham, UKJ11, United Kingdom
Shared published award value
Value not stated
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
22 Nov 2024
Suppliers
One of 9 awarded suppliers
Award ID
005111-2025-PROJECT_1046-1
Status
active
Location
London, UKI, United Kingdom
Shared published award value
Value not stated
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
22 Nov 2024
Suppliers
One of 9 awarded suppliers
Award ID
005111-2025-PROJECT_1046-1
Status
active
Location
London, UKJ11, United Kingdom

MEDTRONIC LIMITED

Matched by exact name
Shared published award value
Value not stated
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
22 Nov 2024
Suppliers
One of 9 awarded suppliers
Award ID
005111-2025-PROJECT_1046-1
Status
active
Location
Watford, UKH23, United Kingdom

MERIL UK LIMITED

Matched by exact name
Shared published award value
Value not stated
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
22 Nov 2024
Suppliers
One of 9 awarded suppliers
Award ID
005111-2025-PROJECT_1046-1
Status
active
Location
Bristol, UKK12, United Kingdom

R & D SURGICAL LIMITED

Match pending…
Shared published award value
Value not stated
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
22 Nov 2024
Suppliers
One of 9 awarded suppliers
Award ID
005111-2025-PROJECT_1046-1
Status
active
Location
Cardiff, UKL22, United Kingdom

ABIOMED, LTD.

Match pending…
Shared published award value
Value not stated
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
22 Nov 2024
Suppliers
One of 2 awarded suppliers
Award ID
005111-2025-PROJECT_1046-2
Status
active
Location
Surrey, UKJ26, United Kingdom

Abbott Medical U.K. Ltd

Matched by exact name
Shared published award value
Value not stated
Awarded
Not supplied
Contract signed
22 Nov 2024
Suppliers
One of 2 awarded suppliers
Award ID
005111-2025-PROJECT_1046-2
Status
active
Location
Solihull, UKG32, United Kingdom

Classification

  • CPV33100000 — Medical equipments
  • CPV33123000 — Cardiovascular devices
  • CPV33141000 — Disposable non-chemical medical consumables and haematological consumables
  • CPV33141210 — Balloon catheters
  • CPV33141240 — Catheter accessories
  • CPV33182000 — Cardiac support devices
  • CPV33182200 — Cardiac stimulation devices
  • CPV33182220 — Cardiac valve
  • CPV33182230 — Ventricle
  • CPV33182300 — Cardiac surgery devices
  • CPV33184100 — Surgical implants
  • CPV33184200 — Vascular prostheses
  • CPV33184300 — Artificial parts of the heart
  • CPV33184500 — Coronary endoprostheses
  • CPV33190000 — Miscellaneous medical devices and products

Lots

  • Heart Valves and Annuloplasty Rings & BandsValue not stated
  • Ventricular Assisted DevicesValue not stated
  • Heart Valves and Annuloplasty Rings & Bands£100m
  • Ventricular Assisted Devices£20m

Published notice details

Additional information from the published procurement release. Fields appear only when supplied by the source; check the original notice and tender documents before acting.

Scope, procedure and submissions

Id
ocds-h6vhtk-0433bf
Status
complete
Has Recurrence
Yes
Review Details
Appeals to be logged in accordance with the Public Contracts Regulations 2015 (as amended)
Procurement Method
open
Main Procurement Category
goods
Procurement Method Details
Open procedure

Covered By

GPA

Bid Opening

Date
9 Aug 2024, 09:00

Legal basis

Id
32014L0024
Scheme
CELEX

Lot Details

Maximum Lots Bid Per Supplier
2
Maximum Lots Awarded Per Supplier
2

Techniques

Has Electronic Auction
Yes
Has Framework Agreement
Yes

Electronic Auction

Description
Although an electronic auction will not be used to award all or part of the requirements of the Framework Agreement the use of eAuctions may be an option as part of any contracts awarded under the Framework Agreement.

Framework Agreement

Maximum Participants
17

Expected award period

Starts
9 Aug 2024, 09:00

Tender Period

Ends
7 Aug 2024, 15:00

Communication

Future Notice Date
29 May 2024, 00:00

Contract terms

Performance Terms
The Framework Agreement includes obligations with respect to environmental issues and a requirement for successful suppliers to comply with the NHS Supply Chain Code of Conduct.
Has Electronic Payment
Yes
Has Electronic Ordering
Yes
Electronic Invoicing Policy
allowed

Classification

Id
33100000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Medical equipments

Submission terms

Languages

en

Bid Validity Period

Duration In Days
210

Submission Method

electronicSubmission
written

Selection criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Type
suitability
Description
NHS Supply Chain intends to enter into arrangements under which it will be entitled to purchase supplies and/or services which it will make available for purchase by 1) any NHS Trust; 2) any other NHS entity; 3) any government department, agency or other statutory body (for the avoidance of doubt including local authorities) and/or 4) any private sector entity active in the UK healthcare sector. Only NHS Supply Chain can order from the Framework Agreement and enter into contracts under it. Electronic ordering will be used and electronic invoicing will be accepted and electronic payment will be used. For the avoidance of doubt, and notwithstanding the estimate indicated at II.2.1, NHS Supply Chain does not guarantee any level of purchase through the framework and advises Applicants that the framework shall be established on a non-exclusive basis. Tenders and all supporting documentation for the contract must be priced in sterling and written in English. Any agreement entered into will be considered a contract made in England according to English law and will be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the English Courts. NHS Supply Chain is not liable for any costs (including any third party costs fees or expenses incurred by those expressing an interest, participating or tendering for this contract opportunity. NHS Supply Chain reserves the right to terminate the procurement process (or part of it), to change the basis of and the procedures for the procurement process at any time, or to procure the subject matter of the contract by alternative means if it appears that it can be more advantageously procured by alternative means. The most economically advantageous or any tender will not automatically be accepted. All communications must be made through NHS Supply Chain's eTendering portal at https://nhssupplychain.app.jaggaer.com// using the Message Centre facility linked to this particular contract notice. Please note that the maximum number of suppliers as set out in IV.1.3 is an estimate only.

Applies To

supplier

Lots and requirements

Entry 1
Id
Lot 1
Title
Heart Valves and Annuloplasty Rings & Bands
Status
active
Has Options
Yes
Has Renewal
No
Description
Products include, but are not limited to; Annuloplasty band Annuloplasty ring Heart Valve Instruments Heart valve mechanical Heart valve root replacement Heart valve sutureless Heart valve sutures Heart Valve Tissue Heart valve tissue pericardial Heart valve tissue porcine Heart valve tissue stentless Heart valve transcatheter Mechanical valved non biological conduit Pulmonary valved conduit Tissue valved non biological conduit Tissue valved tissue conduit Valved conduit Vascular Loop Additional information: Precise quantities are unknown. It is anticipated that initial expenditure will be in the region of £20m-£25m in the first year of this Framework Agreement, however this is approximate only and the values may vary depending on the requirements of those bodies purchasing under the Framework Agreement.

Value

Amount
100,000,000
Currency
GBP

Options

Description
The Framework Agreement will have an initial term of 24 months with an option to extend incrementally for up to a total period of 48 months.

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Name
Training and Education
Type
quality
Description
10
Criterion 2
Name
Sales, Service & Quality
Type
quality
Description
10
Criterion 3
Name
Social Value - Carbon or Environmental Impact
Type
quality
Description
5
Criterion 4
Name
Social Value - Modern Slavery
Type
quality
Description
5
Criterion 5
Name
Price
Type
cost
Description
44
Criterion 6
Name
NPM
Type
cost
Description
26

Contract period

Duration In Days
720

Submission terms

Variant Policy
notAllowed
Entry 2
Id
Lot 2
Title
Ventricular Assisted Devices
Status
active
Has Options
Yes
Has Renewal
No
Description
Certain products within Lot 2 Ventricular assisted devices may be classified as high cost tariff excluded devices under the NHS England High Cost Tariff Excluded Devices (HCTED) programme. Trusts who are commissioned to provide specialised services in England are directed to purchase all their requirements through a national supply system through NHS Supply Chain. Details of the product categories currently within scope of the HCTED programme, can be found using the following link: https://www.england.nhs.uk/commissioning/spec-services/key-docs/medical-devices/ In accordance with the specialised services commissioning policy, NHS Improvement and NHS England will determine which products are classified as excluded from tariff and which are made available under the NHS England High Cost Tariff Excluded Devices (HCTED) programme. Additional information: Precise quantities are unknown. It is anticipated that initial expenditure will be in the region of £1m to £5m in the first year of this Framework Agreement, however this is approximate only and the values may vary depending on the requirements of those bodies purchasing under the Framework Agreement.

Value

Amount
20,000,000
Currency
GBP

Options

Description
The Framework Agreement will have an initial term of 24 months with an option to extend incrementally for up to a total period of 48 months.

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Name
Training and Education
Type
quality
Description
10
Criterion 2
Name
Sales, Service & Quality
Type
quality
Description
10
Criterion 3
Name
Social Value - Carbon or Environmental Impact
Type
quality
Description
5
Criterion 4
Name
Social Value - Modern Slavery
Type
quality
Description
5
Criterion 5
Type
price
Description
70

Contract period

Duration In Days
720

Submission terms

Variant Policy
notAllowed
Entry 3
Id
1
Title
Heart Valves and Annuloplasty Rings & Bands
Status
cancelled
Has Options
Yes
Description
Products include, but are not limited to; Annuloplasty band Annuloplasty ring Heart Valve Instruments Heart valve mechanical Heart valve root replacement Heart valve sutureless Heart valve sutures Heart Valve Tissue Heart valve tissue pericardial Heart valve tissue porcine Heart valve tissue stentless Heart valve transcatheter Mechanical valved non biological conduit Pulmonary valved conduit Tissue valved non biological conduit Tissue valved tissue conduit Valved conduit Vascular Loop Additional information: Precise quantities are unknown. It is anticipated that initial expenditure will be in the region of £20m-£25m in the first year of this Framework Agreement, however this is approximate only and the values may vary depending on the requirements of those bodies purchasing under the Framework Agreement.

Options

Description
The Framework Agreement will have an initial term of 24 months with an option to extend incrementally for up to a total period of 48 months.

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Name
Training and Education
Type
quality
Description
10
Criterion 2
Name
Sales, Service & Quality
Type
quality
Description
10
Criterion 3
Name
Social Value - Carbon or Environmental Impact
Type
quality
Description
5
Criterion 4
Name
Social Value - Modern Slavery
Type
quality
Description
5
Criterion 5
Name
Price
Type
cost
Description
44
Criterion 6
Name
NPM
Type
cost
Description
26
Entry 4
Id
2
Title
Ventricular Assisted Devices
Status
cancelled
Has Options
Yes
Description
Certain products within Lot 2 Ventricular assisted devices may be classified as high cost tariff excluded devices under the NHS England High Cost Tariff Excluded Devices (HCTED) programme. Trusts who are commissioned to provide specialised services in England are directed to purchase all their requirements through a national supply system through NHS Supply Chain. Details of the product categories currently within scope of the HCTED programme, can be found using the following link: https://www.england.nhs.uk/commissioning/spec-services/key-docs/medical-devices/ In accordance with the specialised services commissioning policy, NHS Improvement and NHS England will determine which products are classified as excluded from tariff and which are made available under the NHS England High Cost Tariff Excluded Devices (HCTED) programme. Additional information: Precise quantities are unknown. It is anticipated that initial expenditure will be in the region of £1m to £5m in the first year of this Framework Agreement, however this is approximate only and the values may vary depending on the requirements of those bodies purchasing under the Framework Agreement.

Options

Description
The Framework Agreement will have an initial term of 24 months with an option to extend incrementally for up to a total period of 48 months.

Award criteria

Criteria

Criterion 1
Name
Training and Education
Type
quality
Description
10
Criterion 2
Name
Sales, Service & Quality
Type
quality
Description
10
Criterion 3
Name
Social Value - Carbon or Environmental Impact
Type
quality
Description
5
Criterion 4
Name
Social Value - Modern Slavery
Type
quality
Description
5
Criterion 5
Name
Price
Type
cost
Description
70

Items and delivery

Item 1
Id
Lot 1
Related Lot
Lot 1

Delivery Location

Description
Various Locations in the UK

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UK
Entry 2
Region
UK

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Id
33100000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Medical equipments
Entry 2
Id
33123000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Cardiovascular devices
Entry 3
Id
33141000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Disposable non-chemical medical consumables and haematological consumables
Entry 4
Id
33141210
Scheme
CPV
Description
Balloon catheters
Entry 5
Id
33141240
Scheme
CPV
Description
Catheter accessories
Entry 6
Id
33182000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Cardiac support devices
Entry 7
Id
33182220
Scheme
CPV
Description
Cardiac valve
Entry 8
Id
33182300
Scheme
CPV
Description
Cardiac surgery devices
Entry 9
Id
33184100
Scheme
CPV
Description
Surgical implants
Entry 10
Id
33184200
Scheme
CPV
Description
Vascular prostheses
Entry 11
Id
33184300
Scheme
CPV
Description
Artificial parts of the heart
Entry 12
Id
33184500
Scheme
CPV
Description
Coronary endoprostheses
Entry 13
Id
33190000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Miscellaneous medical devices and products
Item 2
Id
Lot 2
Related Lot
Lot 2

Delivery Location

Description
Various Locations in the UK

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UK
Entry 2
Region
UK

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Id
33100000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Medical equipments
Entry 2
Id
33182200
Scheme
CPV
Description
Cardiac stimulation devices
Entry 3
Id
33182230
Scheme
CPV
Description
Ventricle
Entry 4
Id
33182300
Scheme
CPV
Description
Cardiac surgery devices
Item 3
Id
1
Related Lot
1

Delivery Location

Description
Various Locations in the UK

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UK

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Id
33100000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Medical equipments
Item 4
Id
2
Related Lot
2

Delivery Location

Description
Various Locations in the UK

Delivery locations

Entry 1
Region
UK

Additional Classifications

Entry 1
Id
33100000
Scheme
CPV
Description
Medical equipments

Published documents

Entry 1
Id
economic1
Document Type
economicSelectionCriteria
Entry 2
Id
technical1
Document Type
technicalSelectionCriteria

Buyer, suppliers and contacts

Organisation 1
Id
GB-FTS-61394
Name
NHS Supply Chain Operated by Supply Chain Coordination Ltd (SCCL)

Roles

buyer
centralPurchasingBody

Address

Region
UKI4
Locality
London
Postal Code
SE1 8UG
Country Name
United Kingdom
Street Address
Wellington House, 133-155 Waterloo Road

Details

Classifications

Entry 1
Id
NATIONAL_AGENCY
Scheme
TED_CA_TYPE
Description
National or federal agency/office
Entry 2
Id
07
Scheme
COFOG
Description
Health

Identifier

Legal Name
NHS Supply Chain Operated by Supply Chain Coordination Ltd (SCCL)

Contact

Name
Gavin Staniforth
Organisation 2
Id
GB-FTS-72147
Name
NHS Supply Chain

Roles

processContactPoint

Address

Region
UKE4
Locality
Normanton
Postal Code
WF6 1TL
Country Name
United Kingdom
Street Address
Foxbridge Way

Details

Identifier

Legal Name
NHS Supply Chain

Contact

Name
Catherine Nuttall
Organisation 3
Id
GB-FTS-142
Name
Not Applicable

Roles

reviewBody

Address

Locality
Not Applicable
Country Name
United Kingdom

Identifier

Legal Name
Not Applicable
Organisation 4
Id
GB-FTS-55018
Name
NHS Supply Chain

Roles

buyer

Address

Region
UKI3
Locality
London
Postal Code
SE1 8UG
Country Name
United Kingdom
Street Address
Wellington House, 133-155 Waterloo Road

Details

Classifications

Entry 1
Id
NATIONAL_AGENCY
Scheme
TED_CA_TYPE
Description
National or federal agency/office
Entry 2
Id
07
Scheme
COFOG
Description
Health

Identifier

Legal Name
NHS Supply Chain

Contact

Organisation 5
Id
GB-FTS-138017
Name
Abbott Medical U.K. Ltd

Roles

supplier

Address

Region
UKG32
Locality
Solihull
Country Name
United Kingdom

Details

Scale
large

Identifier

Legal Name
Abbott Medical U.K. Ltd
Organisation 6
Id
GB-FTS-138018
Name
AQUILANT LIMITED

Roles

supplier

Address

Region
UKJ37
Locality
Basingstoke
Country Name
United Kingdom

Details

Scale
sme

Identifier

Legal Name
AQUILANT LIMITED
Organisation 7
Id
GB-FTS-138019
Name
BECTON, DICKINSON U.K. LIMITED

Roles

supplier

Address

Region
UKJ11
Locality
Wokingham
Country Name
United Kingdom

Details

Scale
large

Identifier

Legal Name
BECTON, DICKINSON U.K. LIMITED
Organisation 8
Id
GB-FTS-138020
Name
CORCYM UK (HOLDING) LIMITED

Roles

supplier

Address

Region
UKI
Locality
London
Country Name
United Kingdom

Details

Scale
large

Identifier

Legal Name
CORCYM UK (HOLDING) LIMITED
Organisation 9
Id
GB-FTS-138021
Name
ARTIVION UK LTD

Roles

supplier

Address

Region
UKI31
Locality
Surrey
Country Name
United Kingdom

Details

Scale
sme

Identifier

Legal Name
ARTIVION UK LTD
Organisation 10
Id
GB-FTS-138022
Name
EDWARDS LIFESCIENCES LIMITED

Roles

supplier

Address

Region
UKJ11
Locality
London
Country Name
United Kingdom

Details

Scale
large

Identifier

Legal Name
EDWARDS LIFESCIENCES LIMITED
Organisation 11
Id
GB-FTS-138023
Name
MEDTRONIC LIMITED

Roles

supplier

Address

Region
UKH23
Locality
Watford
Country Name
United Kingdom

Details

Scale
large

Identifier

Legal Name
MEDTRONIC LIMITED
Organisation 12
Id
GB-FTS-138024
Name
MERIL UK LIMITED

Roles

supplier

Address

Region
UKK12
Locality
Bristol
Country Name
United Kingdom

Details

Scale
sme

Identifier

Legal Name
MERIL UK LIMITED
Organisation 13
Id
GB-FTS-138025
Name
R & D SURGICAL LIMITED

Roles

supplier

Address

Region
UKL22
Locality
Cardiff
Country Name
United Kingdom

Details

Scale
sme

Identifier

Legal Name
R & D SURGICAL LIMITED
Organisation 14
Id
GB-FTS-138026
Name
ABIOMED, LTD.

Roles

supplier

Address

Region
UKJ26
Locality
Surrey
Country Name
United Kingdom

Details

Scale
large

Identifier

Legal Name
ABIOMED, LTD.

Award information

Award 1
Id
005111-2025-PROJECT_1046-1
Title
Heart Valves and Annuloplasty Rings & Bands
Status
active

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-FTS-138017
Name
Abbott Medical U.K. Ltd
Supplier 2
Id
GB-FTS-138018
Name
AQUILANT LIMITED
Supplier 3
Id
GB-FTS-138019
Name
BECTON, DICKINSON U.K. LIMITED
Supplier 4
Id
GB-FTS-138020
Name
CORCYM UK (HOLDING) LIMITED
Supplier 5
Id
GB-FTS-138021
Name
ARTIVION UK LTD
Supplier 6
Id
GB-FTS-138022
Name
EDWARDS LIFESCIENCES LIMITED
Supplier 7
Id
GB-FTS-138023
Name
MEDTRONIC LIMITED
Supplier 8
Id
GB-FTS-138024
Name
MERIL UK LIMITED
Supplier 9
Id
GB-FTS-138025
Name
R & D SURGICAL LIMITED

Related lots

1
Award 2
Id
005111-2025-PROJECT_1046-2
Title
Ventricular Assisted Devices
Status
active

Suppliers

Supplier 1
Id
GB-FTS-138017
Name
Abbott Medical U.K. Ltd
Supplier 2
Id
GB-FTS-138026
Name
ABIOMED, LTD.

Related lots

2

Contracts and changes

Entry 1
Id
005111-2025-PROJECT_1046-1
Title
Heart Valves and Annuloplasty Rings & Bands
Status
active
Award ID
005111-2025-PROJECT_1046-1
Date Signed
22 Nov 2024, 00:00
Entry 2
Id
005111-2025-PROJECT_1046-2
Title
Ventricular Assisted Devices
Status
active
Award ID
005111-2025-PROJECT_1046-2
Date Signed
22 Nov 2024, 00:00

Recorded locations

  • Buyer location · London · UKI3 · SE1 8UG · United Kingdom
  • Delivery location · UK

Notice and amendment history

1 published notice version reviewed by ProcuraAxis.

1 VERSION
  1. ocds-h6vhtk-0433bf-2025-02-14T12:04:09Zcompiled ·